Rosie Smith's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Indonesian, Spanish
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Environmental professional and general multi-skiller
  • Uni and then some
  • From Stoney Stanton, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm pretty social and like to keep my mind open - and there's always something to learn from meeting new people, and I enjoy keeping things dynamic - this can be difficult during the winter in regional WA!
I've travelled about the place a fair bit both overseas and here in Australia, and wound up down here on the south coast in 2011. I've got a couple of littlies and work part time so I have a PhD in juggling and time management :)
I'm mad keen on anything outdoors, I'm into trail running, bush walking, camping (we got some great spots here I can share with you) and my veggie garden is usually something beautiful to behold. I love the wildness of the coast and the bush here, working in the environmental field has given me a special appreciation of what's still about in the south west. Most of the time my work involves natural resource management, environmental and outdoor education, some eco-tour guiding back there too.
I've just started a little trail running and hiking tour business called Dirty Feet Tours, check us out on facebook or insta! @dirtyfeettours.
I'm a bit of a muso in my valuable spare time, having some fun in a couple of bands locally and loving every minute of it.
What do I love?
Oooooh what's not to love about the rollercoaster of life? Cooking and eating, dancing, making and listening to music, taking in the lows as well as the highs, being surprised and challenged, delighting in my kids.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had a great time a few years ago being both a (brief) surfer and then a host here in WA - I really like the concept behind couchsurfing, and now my children are out of the gnarly baby stage I'd like to have another go. At present I'm just accepting guests on the days when my boys are not about (from Sunday evening until Weds evening each week) to dip my toes back in and see how things go.

Interests

  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • music
  • live music
  • camping
  • trail running
  • travelling
  • beach
  • laughing
  • sustainability
  • conversation
  • children
  • vegetables
  • bushwalking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music, well I believe that good music has no genre and that just about covers it :)
I'm a classically trained musician but don't listen to it much! My Spotify playlists covers everything from drum n bass, electronic music, to blues, Australian artists, Latin, as well as what might have been on triple J that week.
Movies, I don't get to watch as many of them as I used to due to my general desire to get as much sleep as possible since having kids - that said, I enjoyed watching The Dallas Buyers Club, The Dressmaker, Hunt for the Wilder People and Star Wars last year.
Books - ditto above, left to my own devices I tend to go for fantasy type stuff or Australian authors, joining a book club was good for me a few years ago.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just the one??
Off the top of my head: Swum with New Zealand fur seals, seen one of the few remaining advancing glaciers, nailed a full-on 24km trail race, had funny conversations with people who don't speak my first language, performed in front of hundreds of people while overcoming nerves, abseiled off and helped other to abseil off some big sea cliffs, did the 100km Oxfam Trailwalker in 2015, taught my kids to bake.

Teach, Learn, Share

Not sure what I'm supposed to put here -
however - I'm a pretty accepting person, if I don't like something you say or do I'll address it rather than let it fester and go stinky, but I'll aim to do so in a tactful way. I've got lots filed away in my head about my local area and its ecosystems, and also am a pretty good source of tourist information.
I'm up for learning as much as I can from you too!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My glittering wit and personality, almost always some home grown eggs and veggies if there's enough, the opportunity to hang out in a lovely part of Denmark too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Dominica, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosie’s full profile.

My Groups