Matt Sparks

Austin, Texas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Internet marketer/entrepreneur--I can live or travel anyw...
  • BA in English Lit from Lehigh University and an MBA in En...
  • From Newton, Iowa, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


The world is a mess, and I just need to rule it. -Dr. Horrible


I'm an active, energetic guy with lots of interests and lots of friends. I have two roommates, one of whom is also on CS (petermkirby). For guests, I have a queen sized inflatable mattress that's more comfy than most beds I've ever owned. My apartment is in the Clarksville neighborhood, a 10 minute walk to downtown Austin, TX, USA. There's lots to do here in Austin, and I make a point to do as much of it as I can with any willing friends. I'm really looking forward to some fun travels I have planned over the coming months. I rock climb several times a week, and find other ways to play in the outdoors a lot too (i.e. mountain biking, snowboarding, hiking, camping, road trips, et cetera). I love movies, but don't have a TV or cable or anything; I'd much rather have a conversation with just about anyone than sit around watching TV. I try to get out and see indie rock shows and go dancing a lot. I work from home, but my business affords me much freedom and flexibility. (In addition to an all-natural supplement company, I built some muses, for those of you familiar with the 4-Hour Workweek by Tim Ferris.)I'm easy going, not into drugs, and easy to get along with. I'm up for just about anything with anyone of any age, so drop me a line. Stop by sometime. Let's be friends!


Yes! Yes to everything! Except heroin. Definitely no to heroin. But yes to life. :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've surfed a lot of couches in North and South America. I've had many more couchsurfers crash at my place. I've also met a ton of great people by meeting for coffee, showing folks my city or seeing theirs, and attending various events.


I've hosted many surfers. I've traveled through a few countries - though not nearly as many as a lot of folks on CS - almost entirely by couchsurfing, hostels, and camping. I can sleep anywhere, and I'm extremely low-maintenance, clean, and respectful.


Travel, rock climbing, sustainable agriculture/organic farming/gardening, vegetarian cooking, mountain biking, hiking, snowboarding, concerts, eclectic music, indie movies, literature, internet marketing, entrepreneurship, clubbing and dancing (All kinds! But especially salsa lately...), writing, blogging, yoga, politics (liberal), volunteering, New Urbanism, environmental issues, improving my Spanish, apiculture (beekeeping), exploring cities and finding hole-in-the-wall restaurants and strange nooks and crannies, and trying just about anything that life has to offer.

Music, Movies, and Books

Eclectic music, indie movies, and many, many different genres of books. Not super into mainstream pop music, blockbuster movies, or throwaway literature, though I'm far from a snob. If it's good, fun, or even worth talking about, I'll check it out and probably enjoy it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching Barack Obama become President has got to be pretty far up the list.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share an expansive mp3 collection. I can teach you how to rock climb. I can show you how to build a low-maintenance internet business that could allow you to be a vagabond traveler indefinitely. I can help you improve your English. I have been to 48 US states, many of them multiple times, and can advise what's worth seeing and what's not from border to border. I've got an extra bike you can borrow. And I'll go out dancing anytime, anywhere.

There's very little in the world that I don't want to learn, so if you're an expert in something and like to share, I'm sure we'll be fast friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Canada, Chile, Philippines, Spain, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups