Spencer Nace's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Spencer’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Student\Traveler
  • Enrolled in university, focus on psychology
  • From Fairbanks, AK, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hi folks! I'm a 19 year old fella from Alaska). I went to university for a year in the Oregon, USA, before deciding that my place was not in school just yet, and the thing I know best about myself is that I love people. I have been self-employed the last two summers (landscaping, gardening, log splitting, some carpentry, etc.) with a couple friends. Before that, I was a youth soccer referee for three years. I definitely take pride in working until a task is completed to the best it can be, and I love helping others/being around kids.

I'm looking to gain three things by traveling internationally: 1. To be educated in cultures outside of the US and so be humbled by the vastness of the world. 2. To meet people and make friends that I would not otherwise come across. 3. To develop my self-reliance and motivation as I make my own travel plans around the continent and organize my life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I came to Bulgaria in late september to WWOOF on a homestead for about 2 months (including a Permaculture Design Course I attended there) I've been traveling around Europe for the last 4 months via bus, autostop, BlaBlaCar, and train. Met a lot of cool friends along the way, so I have been mainly visiting and staying with them until now. I've heard couchsurfing is a great way to travel local when I don't know someone in the area, and create fun connections everywhere :)

I have WWOOFed before, but first time couchsurfing officially.

Interests

I like walking around, exploring where i and, relaxing watching a movie or reading, talking with new people, talking with old friends, hiking, swimming, futbol/soccer, eating, trying new things.... Pretty much anything. It's nice to see what other folk like to do and have those new experiences.

  • design
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • walking
  • gardening
  • clothing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • origami
  • homesteading
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • mathematics
  • religion
  • science
  • wwoof

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
The Empathy Exams (woman travels North America and studies the idea and act of empathy)
Notes From No Man's Land (traveller takes notes and compares history with their current experiences the U.S. all through their 20's)
Percy Jackson series
Star Wars novels

Movies:
Airplane
Get Smart
American Beauty
Forrest Gump
Stranger than Fiction
Supernatural (series)
The Office (series)

Music:
(Mostly everything, I like to hear new)
70's/80's soft rock
Nightcore
Macklemore
Jack Johnson
Alt-J

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So I have this friend named Danny. He's my best man. And he loves two things: milk and his boys (myself and some other friends). So, for his birthday last year I secretly got all of us other than Danny together and we had a photoshoot of all of us guys in our underwear and various funny clothes pouring milk all over ourselves and doing hilarious poses. It took about 4 hours and a lot of milk, but it was a hilarious and fun time for everyone.
Then, we selected the best photos and made a custom calendar to send to Danny for his birthday the next month. It arises a little late, but he said it was the best gift he has ever received :)

I'm just very proud that I organized that crazy event... It's kinda unusual, I hesitated to write about it here, but I think it's a moment that shows who I am at my core: having fun in adventurous ways, both for and with great people. I am really thankful I have such loving and open minded friends who are willing to do bizarre things together :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Anything and everything. Math, science, religion, English, basic Spanish, stories, eating ice cream, yoga classes, human nature, meaning of life\love\death\after, basket weaving, cooking (I'm not good at it, but I want to be)...

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am 19 and still in school so I do not have an official profession or expertise, but I would be happy to teach\practice English, clean up around the house, do dishes, work on a garden, do some labor, some origami, etc. If you show me how I can help, I would be happy to.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Spencer’s full profile. It’s free!