Logo orange

Elisa Gatti

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 64 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Laughing and smiling
  • Gradute degree in Business
  • From Grand Island, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live in the Sunshine

ABOUT ME

Since I joined couchsurfing, lots have changed. I no longer travel much, as I have gotten married and now we have Brandon, almost 21 months. Life is great, but very different.

I still love the sun and being outdoors. I used to have tons of energy but it is now trying to entertain a toddler which I need lots of energy for. We just travelled to visit family over in the USA for 5 weeks. I haven't done serious traveling in many years now and I do still long to get to the places my world trip did not take me.

I am a bit quirky and sarcastic but always with a smile. Josh is calm and very friendly and balances me out. I love running, snowboarding, and watching AFL (Australian Football League). My spelling and grammar are atrocious. I love animals. I am carefree but an organised freak. Most people think I am pretty funny even if I dont try, i think its the witt and sarcasm :). I love trying anything new (except food). I sing loud and strong in the car. The hardest thing I ever done was climb Mt Kilimanjaro.

PHILOSOPHY

Live life in the sunshine

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have stopped hosting for a bit, as Brandon was born, but we are ready now to have travelers again and we want Brandon to be exposed to different cultures at a very early age.

We have met many great people who we have helped along away and many who have helped us. We have had couchsurfers rent from us and it has also has been a great learning experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch surfed a few places (Swiss, Vancouver and Seattle) and the hosts were great, and I had a fantastic experience. I was so excited when I had a place to be able to host.

We have hosted people from England, Wales, Canada, USA, Norway, Germany, Hong Kong, Malaysia,Sweden, Taiwan, France, Switzerland, Quebec,Brazil, China, and Australia so far since Dec 08. We would love to host everyone who requests to, but we just can't.

Interests

Travelling of course since that what my life is, but I love sports and am part of a volleyball team here in Melbourne. I love going to concerts, gigs, festivals and hearing live and local music. I visit museums, art galleries when I can. I am interested in most things, and if I am not sure about, I will give it a try. I don't like cooking much and trying new food, but I am trying to work on that!

Music, Movies & Books

Eat, Love, and Pray by Elizabeth Gilbert and Bill Bryson's Short History of nearly Everything, and just recently finished The Kite Runner, and Shadow of the Wind.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have seen amazing things and have done amazing activities, but for me, the hardest, both mentally and physically was climbing Mt Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. I am a solo traveler, so I was not able to share my once in a lifetime experience with anyone close to me, which was a bit sad, but it was an amazing experience. One which I pushed myself more than I thought possible. I did not make it though, I cut it short 95 meters short (or two hours more) but I also knew when my body could no longer go on. Someday I may do it again, but I am proud of myself, freezing, headache, passing out, and I saw the sun rise over the Mountain top, colors streaming, clouds at my fingertips, the white glacier sweating. It was amazing.

Countries I've Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Austria, Bermuda, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Honduras, Hungary, Mongolia, Namibia, Nicaragua, Peru, Russian Federation, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Costa Rica, Philippines, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile