Stephen White's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Travelling
  • University of Southampton
  • From Southend-On-Sea, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Stevie! I'm a singer-songwriter and currently travelling in Australia, having spent just over three months in Canada, USA and Mexico.

I love to play my guitar and sing. I've managed to play many venues so far around Canada and the US, as well as playing to my friends and hostel buddies.

Surfing is a big passion of mine. I lived near the sea back home in the UK so always try to get on a surfboard when I can. I've been fortunate enough to surf in incredible locations - Tofino (Vancouver Island), Monterey and Venice Beach (California), Waikiki (O'ahu, Hawaii), Sayulita (Mexico) as well as in Devon and SW Wales back home.

I enjoy meeting new people and sharing stories of travelling. All the better if one of us has tips for a country we haven't been to yet. I like to cook and try different recipes, whether with new foods or cooking old favourites. I'm vegeterian, though I don't mind preparing dishes with meat if I am with friends.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people and to learn from locals! :) I've travelled to 19 countries so far, and have loved to learn about their unique cultures in each corner of the world. I will always find a way to give back to my host, whether washing up, cooking or teaching more about life in the UK. I think there should always be a balance!

Interests

  • music
  • hiking
  • football
  • gym

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to play acoustic songs (on my acoustic guitar), as well as blues and indie when I have my electric. My favourite film is Catch Me If You Can and I love reading about true stories.

Favourite musicians include Mac DeMarco, Bon Iver, Jeff Buckley, and of course, Joni Mitchell.

My favourite TV show is Breaking Bad, what a series! I enjoy going to the cinema when I can, and seeing live music in pubs or at shows.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in the Arctic, researching and camping in the wild. We spent time hiking with huskies and visiting remote locations!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am always happy to share my music with people. I write my own songs and play open mics/gigs when I get the chance. I can also show you how I record all my music. I know a little German, so if you wanted to know some basic language from Deutschland I can share this with you.

I edit and design for a fan-run page of Southampton FC Women so can share my photo editing skills on my laptop.

I like to read and learn about history and geography, so there is always something to teach people about my knowledge of the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my English cooking skills (I used to cook for myself and my five housemates) as well as teach guitar. I hope to become a guitar teacher one day, so need all the practice I can get! I love surfing, so if this interests you, maybe we could find a place to surf together?!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Belgium, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jersey, Mexico, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, England, Scotland, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile.

My Groups