Logo orange

John's Groups

John Caton

Austin, TX, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Freelance anthropologist
  • Bachelor
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find a job in Austin TX

ABOUT ME

In august of 2009 I left to see all that I could. I spent two months backpacking trough Europe. honestly, i am new to the practice of nomadic ways, if you feel you could lend a hand with advice or anything please let me know.

On a personal note: since I left home I have found more out about me (good or bad is yet to be determined). One: i enjoy a slow pace of life, not running around trying to get here or there but letting life carry me along on its current.
Two: I can be completely content with doing nothing (just sitting and thinking randomly) but i also need/want to be engaging and engaged in conversation with people.
Two point One: If I seem quiet please do not take offense i can be a little slow to warm up or am stuck trying to decide just what question to pick out of the million possibilities there are.
Two point Two: Throughout the years people have called me "stoic" and have told me to smile more, please note that just because I may not have a smile on my face does not mean I am not smiling on the inside.
Three: Learning has always been a passion of mine. whether it is learning in a school setting or out in the world, if it is "useful" or just fun, i believe the best way to learn is to experience (books and movies can only take you so far).

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that all people can be good, and that all things based in goodness have been created from the same source. This includes religion, technology, almost anything that can be thought of.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Now that i am in a better living arrangement i can now host more.
Where I live not many people stop, they are more than likely just passing through. Therefore I try to make it out to local meetings where ever I may be.

Because there are almost no surf requests for my town i would like to become an ambassador to help spread the knowledge of my corner of the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

When i travel i couchsurf, i must say, it is the best time i had ever have!

I have created a few events and met a few interesting and enjoyable people.

Each time I have been out in the world I have met up with a few CouchSurfers and each time they have all been outstanding, outgoing, fantastic people.

I would like to thank Abed from Illinois for my first couch request. Unfortunately, i was selling my place and starting on my world tour. Thanks Abed! wish it could have worked out.

Interests

I love to listen, stories are my life. The next best thing to stories is food. Whether it is making, eating, or sharing recipes etc.

I enjoy the outdoors and nature. I have a great fondness for birds, i find them to be beautiful and graceful creatures.

During my travels I hope to be able to participate in WWOOF.

Music, Movies & Books

Science fiction and drama are my favorites for movies. Was never much into reading biographies and non-fiction, then I took a class centered on biographies, will read them now. Very little does not interest me. Please refer to my interests section to understand my views on stories.

When I had a radio I used to listen to classical and jazz, mainly because i have difficulty picking out the lyrics so i let the instruments move my emotions. will listen to pretty much anything though, as long as it is fun or has a good beat.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

On a clear summer night, seeing the spectrum of light in the star burst of the moon.

Teach, Learn, Share

After taking a few semesters of a few different languages i would love to actually learn another or few. also in return i am more than open to help others with their proficiency in English.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile