Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sean’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Korean
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Teacher
  • BA in Business Administration
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Well.. after being confined to the small town of Centralia in the Northwest for 22 years, I finally began venturing out into the world. Dips into Canada, across the State of Washington, and a bit into Oregon was all I had managed by my 22nd birthday--nothing beyond 6 hours away from my home. You know that feeling of anxiety of when you're too far from home... homesickness they call it? I had the same feeling but flipped--I was sick of home.

I threw clothes in my car, my guitar and camera, and jetted off to Arizona. In hindsight, I definitely should have used Couchsurfing to find some couches! Instead of CS, I surfed two of my best friends houses in Nevada and Arizona for a few nights, and slept in the back of my very compact Ford Focus on the remaining other nights. It was only a week in all, but it definitely got me started with my travels.

One year later at exactly the same time, I board my first plane and head off to Quito, Ecuador. There I lived for three months with a host family, traveling all around the country and having the best time of my life. I could go on about this, but it would take pages and pages... and already has on my blog. Check it out if you're interested:
http://stwood8.blogspot.com

Changing my path, I decided to jump across the Pacific for a year to teach English in South Korea... which, turned into 3. There I met my wonderful wife Eunbi, traveled and grew together, and now we're living in Olympia, WA teaching and looking for the next adventure--when time permits!

My philosophy on life:
"If you're robbing a bank.. and your pants fall down, I think it's okay to laugh, and to let the hostages laugh too because, c'mon, life is funny."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoy meeting new people, seeing new things, and trying new foods.

If you're in my area, hopefully I can show you some of these things as well!

Interests

  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music these days: Noah Gundersen, Broadside, Rage Against the Machine, Anberlin, The Story So Far

Movies: Anchorman, 12 Monkeys, Fight Club, Big Fish, etc...

Books: A song of Ice and Fire series by GRRM, On The Road by Jack Kerouac, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak and am able to teach English and Spanish, and my wife is able to teach both English and Korean. We are decent at cooking and love sharing stories about our culture and travels.

What I Can Share with Hosts

-English, Spanish, Korean
-Cooking (not the best but I can manage a few dishes!)
-Guitar
-Computers/technology
-Photography

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Ecuador, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sean’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups