Munich, Bavaria, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SUNSHINEBERLIN’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Sign Language - American, Sign Language - German
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student Deaf Studies (German Sign Language& Deaf Culture)...
  • School, High School, German Gymnasium, German Abitur. Now...
  • From Munich, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To learn how to live in the moment and really enjoy each day! I think that´s not as easy as I might seem!


I am a very outgoing, lively and fun person with a quiet and sensitive side to me. A lot of people think I am a "crack-up" while on the other side I can listen to interesting people and stories for hours. I love to meet new people and see their perspective on the world. I am vegetarian and I wonder a lot about the future of mankind and animals.
I cannot absolutely not stand or listen to stories about treating animals bad even though a lot of people might find it "funny".
I love the little things that make life great and I still believe in love and the power of love. After staying with a group of gay guys at a dorm, with them taking me in when I had no place to got and they didn´t even know me, I see a lot of things with new eyes. On my travel through the US I stayed with lots of different people and now I am even more convinced that prejudice and racism are the root of a lot of evil in this world.
At the moment I am in my last Semester of my Bachelor and therefore back home in Munich, Germany.
In April I will need to be back in Berlin to start my Master Degree in German Sign Language Interpreting.


I want to do something good each and every day even though it might be something small.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I want to be an active Couchsurfer and Host and be part of the community. I haven´t had a chance to host anybody yet because I have been going back and forth between Munich and Berlin. September and Oktober will be very busy months for me, so I cannot host. But starting in Winter I want to slowly start hosting together with my boyfriend. He is also on CS. As a host I want to take time to show them the places I love in Munich or at least give them good advice. Munich is more than just Octoberfest :)

Ich möchte ein aktiver Couchsurfer und Host werden und damit einen Teil dazu beitragen diese Community ständig zu erweitern. Durch meine Kenntnisse in der Deutschen Gebärdensprache können vielleicht auch mehr taube Menschen CS nutzen.


My couchsurfing experience so far have only been surfing and they were great!! I really enjoyed all the different hosts I have met and they all made me feel welcome and comfortable! I only surf at Girls/Women´s places because I feel more safe this way but that´s just my personal decision. Couchsurfing is not only a great way to travel but also to make new friends in your home town and in new places.
For me it was an eye-opener and I have switched for my suitcase for a huge backpack. Also I am working on travelling light!


Sign Language, Dogs, Hiking, Nature, Getting to know a foreign city, travelling, animal protection, more rights for Deaf-Blind people, Reading even though I seem to never find the time anymore, going for tea or coffee and for nice food!!

Music, Movies, and Books

Fun books:
All books from Walter Moers (Die Stadt der träumenden Bücher, Die 13,5 Leben des Käptn´ Blaubär, ...)
All books from Jörg Maurer (Niedertracht, Hochsaison,..)
All books from Rita Falk (Winterkartoffelknödel, Schweinskopf al dente)
Uni Books:
Reading between the Signs by Anna Mindes: So you want to become an interpreter, The Help, Die Welt in meinen Händen, Helen Keller
Paddy Ladd: Understanding Deaf Culture
Simon Tofield: Simon´s Cat
Bill Watterson: Calvin and Hobbes
Markus Zusak: The Book Thief

Music: varies a lot
All time favorites: Rolling Stones, Rod Stewart, Cat Stevens, ....
And thanks to a friend I discovered The Avett Brothers and I really enjoy them!

TV: How I met your mother, The Big Bang Theory
Movies: Pixar, Disney, Star Wars, NO horror movies, every now and then a chick-flick

DVDs: Monaco Franze, Monk, Sex& the City,...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saved a horse´s live.
Hold my granddaddy in my arms while he was leaving this world and him knowing that I was with him.

Teach, Learn, Share

Please let´s try to be more united and make room for more peace and more love.
I put a wish on the Wishing Tree in Washington DC for everybody to get a second chance in life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see SUNSHINEBERLIN’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups