Logo orange

Pieter Abts

Leuven, Flemish-Brabant, Belgium

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pieter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 69 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Searching for ways to share good pra...
  • Finished Arts in highschool. Now I p...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live and share.

ABOUT ME

Well, at the moment I'm trying to find a way of life that suits me best. I am really into socio-ecology, so I try to incorporate certain principles into my life so I can live my life without being disrespectful to nature, my fellow man or myself.

These are some of these principles that I try uphold:
- I cook vegan, but when I'm at someone else's place I eat vegetarian, just to make it not too difficult for my host. I also try to cook gluten-free, use as many local ingredients as possible and without refined sugars. Certainly is a challenge, but I love challenges. :) I have absolutely no problem with other people eating meat, though.

I don't smoke, don't drink and don't do drugs. You could say I'm a straight edger, although I rarely use the term because most people aren't familiar with it. :)

I've never taken a plane in my life and I don't have a car. Maybe I'll get a license one day, but so far I didn't need it.
I loooooove to hitchhike, though! Lately I've been hitchhiking a lot and I so love the interaction with the people who pick you up. Most people who pick up hitch hikers are already open minded, so the conversations are always interesting. The furthest I went so far was from Belgium to Switzerland :)
I also really like to walk for several kilometers a day, at least when it's not too cold outside. I once started walking towards Santiago de Compostela from my hometown. I made it to the border, before my legs really didn't want to go any further and the weather turned around. Many lessons learned from that experience!

I love to be close to nature, but also around people. I like dwelling in forests as well as in cities. I also really like the unexpected, like meeting a person that you instantly hit it off with or see something that absolutely blows your mind or just being in a situation that you never expected to be in.

I'm also a really curious person. I'm always in search of something new to experience, be it a culture, a language, a craft, a sport, a music genre, a subculture, etc.

PHILOSOPHY

Trying to accept that the things are what they are. :)Live life!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Always into seeing new places, meeting new people and learning new things from them as well as teaching them a thing or two!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

At the moment I'm travelling and I already met so many wonderful people on my trip! At first I couldn't believe that people can be so generous to a complete stranger. :) Certainly opened my eyes in how I want to host in the future. As for hosting: One of my previous housemates hosted some couchsurfers and I went to some CS-meetings in my town, but that's about it. I certainly hope to host some people when I get back from my travels.

Interests

I love being creative! I like drawing, writing and sculpting. I like playing instruments like didgeridoo, jew's harp and frame drum. I'm really interested in all sorts om primitive/ancient instruments.I'm really interested in spirituality and those religions that go to the essence of it all like Buddhism, Taoism and Sufism. I like to move. When I'm not sitting and working on something creative, I'm always on the move. I really like to walk and explore new environments. I love to dance to all kinds of music, but I prefer the 5 rhythms at the moment! I'm also really interested in powertraining, martial arts, parkour, poi, flowstaff and buugeng. I'm also really into ecology. I find it very important to live a lifestyle that's sustainable and can be upheld for many generations. I try to incorporate as much as I can in my own life. Me interests go to permaculture, eco-building (cob!), transition towns and ecovillages. I'm also a vegetarian, trying to go vegan (although I'm not there yet). Maybe some day I'll try raw foodism, but that's for later.

Music, Movies & Books

I like to watch a movie sometimes, although I'm more into watching series or snippets on youtube. Some of my favorite movies are 'Into the wild', 'Fearless', 'The last samurai', 'Howl's moving castle', 'Nightmare before Christmas' and 'Four rooms'. Series that I love are 'Whose line is it anyway?', 'Mythbusters' and 'QI'.I love all kind of music genres and am always open to explore new genres. At the moment I'm really into dubstep. :) Other genres I like are mediaeval, folk, tribal, ambient, metal, drum'n'bass, psytrance, breakbeat, industrial, electro, trance, ... I read all sorts of books, fictional and non-fictional. Some books I like are Lord of the rings, The alchemist, The chronicles of Narnia, Discworld, Tao Te Ching, Power of now, Celestine prophecy, Moonwalking with Einstein,...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Drawn 100 jellyfish and put them all across the room of a host in Paris!But the most amazing thing I've ever seen was in my own backyard. :) It was summer and I was sitting in the garden with my sketchbook. I had just drawn something and had laid down my pencil, when I saw a bumblebee. I followed it and saw it buzzing around a bush of lavender. All of a sudden I felt an enormous weight lifted off my shoulders. An innerpeace that I rarely felt. I felt like everything was okay the way it was. That everything in the world was connected with each other and that there was a sort of balance in everything I perceived and I was a part of that balance. Later in life, I came across the term 'Satori', which explained this kind of experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you need an introduction into a new musicgenre, I'm your man. ;)

I can teach you some poi and staff moves.

Maybe I can teach you to play the didgeridoo and jew's harp. It isn't that difficult. :)

I can give you a lot of information on ecology.

I can teach you how to draw a human figure with the right proportions.

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Pieter's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile