SZALLOMANY's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SZALLOMANY’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 58 References 47 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian; learning German, Italian
  • 53, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • biologist (A) & sociologist (Zs)
  • overeducated
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

UPDATE!
School year has started which changed our daily routine as well. We will have to leave home at 7.30am. Please bear this in mind when you ask us to host you :)

OK! This is going to be strict (otherwise we are not assholes)
****************************Before you go on! ********************************
Do not even think writing us without a properly written profile and a letter showing you know who we are.
WE ONLY RESPOND TO REQUESTS SENT AT LEAST 1-2 WEEKS IN ADVANCE . WE DO NOT HOST SOMEONE WITH A SKETCHY PROFILE - We want to know you and socialize with you, if you do not share with us your interests we will never know how much we match
WE DO NOT HOST SOMEONE WITH A COPY-PASTE REQUEST. Make the effort to see who we are and whether you want to know us or not...

Start your letter with the keyword hidden in our profile. Sorry to be rude, but I do not want to waste my time replying to outrageously incomplete messages from people who do not put even minimum effort into CS.
********************************************************************************

ABOUT US
Well we are actually 4 persons: Attila (me) Zsuzsa (significant other), Alex (2010) and Domonkos (2014) our sons.
We love to travel, in the old sense: walking or using public transport, carrying our own stuff. That is the way how one can know a country and meet its people to make friends. We prefer East to the West. We never travel with a travel agency. Usually we travel pretty effectively, not letting too much relaxation to ourselves. Try to keep pace with us, you will see :)

Please be prepared if you come and stay with us to play a bit with the kids. they really enjoy that there are so many people with us and they are also very welcoming, so please appreciate that and try to communicate with them in English.. a few words from every guest and they will soon be perfect in English :) also they like very small presents as an entré :)

We also would like to share food with you, so please join us for dinner sometime. You can also eat from the fridge whatever you find, however in return we would also not mind if you put in something as well... (sorry for those for whom it is natural but we had some less fortunate experiences. Please appreciate our hospitality by some reciprocity..)

Photos here:
https://picasaweb.google.com/szallomany
and here
http://www.koki.hu/~gulyas/other/

We are enthusiastic city bikers, promoting biking instead of cars. I bike in Budapest for 20 years. The secret word is pekaboo anyway.

PHILOSOPHY

A: Life is nice if something is happening!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Well, visiting other people and hosting other people. Spreading the idea!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used to host friends of friends and colleagues visiting the lab I work.
We then hitch-hiked and hiked in Albania and whenever we got a lift (it took no more than 5 minutes) we were invited to spend the night in our benefactors house. It was always a full immersion and extremely pleasant experience. We made a lot of friends.
Soon I heard about CS again so I joined. It seems to be a pretty intense experience.

Interests

We match each other perfectly for a travel.
Attila is interested primarily in: Nature, science, plants, animals...
Zsuzsa is interested primarily in: people, cities, lifestyle...
... and we share our interest in: culture, food, walking, climbing high mountains (no technical climbing)

  • culture
  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • cars
  • socializing
  • coding
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • rock climbing
  • science
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

well this is just a quick lazy list
Hobbies, other than traveling: cooking, programming, biking, reading, tai-chi
music+: bach, goa-trance, pink floyd, chillout, classical, ethnic, tango (only music, can not dance)
music-: operas,
rap, hip-hop (well actually since seeing 8 mile I kind of like it but consider it prose and not music)

movies: Jim Jarmush, Matrix trilogy, Tarkovsky: Stalker
books: Viktor Pelevin, Herman Hesse: Sidharta, Harry Mulisch, recently: Peter Norfolk, Ulickaja, old travel diaries (Darwin, Humboldt, Cook, etc..)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Roraima Tepui: sunbathing on sand of calcite cristals 20meters deep in a cave with a pool. The tropical sun shone down from the zenith through a crack in the ancient sandstone. Then hiked back to our tent pitched in the middle of a labyrinth of pools and plants. It is an out of Earth world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Travel on foot or on public transport, then you see real people!
What you do not use 3 times a day or 1 time a night should not be in your backpack!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Experience on travelling, cooking, Hungary, more specifically my interpretation of Budapest,

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, France, Hungary, Japan, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see SZALLOMANY’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups