A M's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see A’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English; learning French
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Research engineer / grad student
  • Mechanical/Industrial Engineering & Applied Maths
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

This was a very nice surprise for me: https://www.instagram.com/p/B86khQmHMyY/ !! She’s a very talented photographer btw; I’d highly recommend following her for beautiful captures!

I’m an Egyptian living in Montréal; a research engineer passionate about mathematics and systems; a nature lover seeking deeper connection with nature and some new adventures; and kinda a free spirit enjoying pondering over our world and our life! For what I do for a living: I work as a research and teaching assistant while doing my second masters.

PS: I do not drink alcohol or consume marijuana or any similar substances :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have three reasons in mind now:

1. More accessible and authentic travel experience for myself and fellow travelers:
I love to get around very often to see new places and meet new people. I’ve been doing it so far with car rentals and Airbnb, but this doesn’t really give a chance to get to know new people. So, I’ve decided to switch to ride sharing and couch surfing. Ride sharing has been a great experience: if I find a ride available to where I’m heading, it’s cool; if not, I rent a car and make one available for others too! And I’ve been meeting nice people!
However, I’ve been hesitant to give couch surfing a try.. but having nice ride sharing and Airbnb experience, has encouraged me to sign up here - especially that I can also make a place available in my small apartment in Montreal for other travelers!

2. Meeting potential travel companions:
There’re many places in Canada (where I live now) that I would like to visit, including the northern part and the west coast. It’d be nice to have CS journey companions!

3. Learning more about the culture of Quebec:
I’ve recently moved to Montréal and I’d like to meet people from here (and from Quebec in general) to learn more of the language and culture!

Interests

  • reading
  • painting
  • hiking
  • snorkeling
  • boxing
  • table tennis
  • bowling
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • nature
  • sea
  • night walks
  • nature walks
  • air hockey
  • hiking in the mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Some of my favorite movies: The Shawshank redemption; Lord of the rings; Pulp fiction; The Godfather; Inception; Titanic... just picking different genres, but I have a longer list ;)

For books: I used to read the classics of world literature (Charles Dickens, Daniel Defoe, Herman Melville, Mark Twain, Oscar Wilde, HG Wells, Jules Verne, Somerset Maugham... and many others).
Some of other books I like: The art of thinking clearly & Algorithms to live by.
Other than that, it’s all combinatorial maths books :)

I’m not into music!! :D

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Snorkeling with dolphins!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Arabic or maths.
I would love to learn French, painting and growing plants.
I can share cooking a nice meal!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My company and exchanging stories :D I’d also love to feel as part of the family, so I don’t mind helping with chores, running errands and cooking :D

Countries I’ve Visited

United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Egypt

Join Couchsurfing to see A’s full profile.

My Groups