Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Travis’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • gardener, entrepreneur, musician, producer, writer
  • inlife
  • From winnipeg
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To start the seeds that grow the plants that feed me in the summer!

ABOUT ME

I am a seasonal traveling type, staying in Canada typically. Summers I grow garlic, strawberries, micro-greens, and various other veggies near Riding Mountain National Park in Manitoba. In the spring and fall I travel coast to coast making music and videos while visiting family and friends. Winter I like to spend in a quiet spot, in a studio lab, in a cabin in the woods. But often I end up working in cities, checking out galleries, concerts, and other performance related events. I have a Vimeo page, but if you google my name that's not my YouTube channel : )

PHILOSOPHY

We create reality. Be the change. Dont Panic. So it goes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when I can, usually in the summer at the farm. I have surfed while traveling in Canada, but lately I'm participating more through the community building aspect of Couchsurfing. Meeting new friends through events and discussions. Hooray CS!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've moved around a lot, and surf friends couches a lot. I am an easy guest to host, try to help out, like eating meals with other people, often bring wine. I have worked at hostels and I am a comfortable and contained traveler.

Interests

music, photo/video, discussion, card games, board games, dancing, climbing trees, jumping up on and off stuff, tasting wine, craft beer, cooking, hiking a mountain, warm weather, animals, movies, books, and on and on

  • animals
  • pets
  • chickens
  • books
  • performing arts
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • movies
  • board games
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

I appreciate all music but listen mostly to hip hop of the thought variety, reggae, dub, bohemian swing, spoken word and on and on.

Movies that reveal something unique, or any mindless candy I can descend into for 2 hours...it`s rare that I`ll shut it off...

Contemporary books, relevant books, books that inspire

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

one summer i had a bear chasing my chickens around their pen...i scared it off, or so i thought, and proceeded to start to repair the fence. the bear circled around and came back for another round, cutting me off from my cabin/truck! i yelled and banged a shovel on a fence post but the bear kept coming. luckily, she was more interested in the chickens, and i managed to retreat to my truck...honking the horn finally scared her away...pesky bears!

Teach, Learn, Share

Anything music, electronic or acoustic, I am a student of it but I have experience to share.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food, especially if you visit the farm...it's been a pet project of mine to secure a high quality, as local as possible food supply. I source ethically raised meat from local producers, keep chickens for fresh eggs, order bulk beans, grains, rices, and of course raise vegetables and berries. I cook in many styles and all diets are welcome in the kitchen.

Countries I’ve Visited

Mexico, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Travis’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups