Tal Carmy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tal’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern); learning Japanese
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Research Associate
  • Rutgers University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I'm currently working as a Research Associate in Bascom Palmer, Miami Florida. My project is focused on the mechanism of the Wnt pathway regenerating the axons in the optic nerve after surgery. I'd love to explain it better when we meet!
Brief explanation of places I've lived: I was born in Israel, moved in NY when I was 10 months old, moved back to Israel when I was 8 years old, moved to FL when I was 14 years old, moved to NJ for my bachelors when I was 18 years old, lived in Japan for 5 months when I was 22 years old (study abroad), and moved back to FL when I was 23 years old. Reasons for moving around was my mother's job, the will to start a new life, and the desire to travel.
I enjoy talking to other people and getting to know them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

During my travels, I attempt to stay at local houses to learn more about the country and culture. I would like to be immersed in the language, cultural habits, as well get good advice from people who live in the area. In addition, there's nothing like a home environment.

Interests

I've done a bit of gymnastics in the past and enjoyed it a lot. I must say, my passion would be photography, although I don't practice it enough.

  • culture
  • photography
  • environment
  • gymnastics
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I like anything good. Usually, I enjoy encounters of real stories. However, when it comes to music, if it has a good rhythm, then it's my kind of music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I volunteered in Thailand. I helped build a pig pen for a poor community to better support them as well as teach English in local schools.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy teaching anything I am familiar. I enjoy learning about absolutely anything possible.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share the many cultures I've experience during my travels as well as my personal knowledge of living and growing up in three cultures. I have been learning a few other languages.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, France, Hong Kong, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Israel, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tal’s full profile. It’s free!