Tamsyn Loat

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamsyn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • youth worker/beekeeper/radical radio host
  • Bahcelor of Social Work
  • From Vancouver, BC
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To climb tall mountains with big backpacks


I'm a beekeeper by summer, youth worker by winter. I run an anarcho-DIY radio show during the day, and scavenge the city at night. I like sleeping early, and pulling all nighters; drinking tea, and shot-gunning beer. Always laughing, always smiling, never ending bad jokes. Love grass play on sunny days with lots of toys and circus folks. I haven't rested somewhere for more than 8 months in 5 years....and we'll see when that cycle ends!


Oppose consumption
Develop skills
Learn about your environment
Build solidarity
Contribute to your community

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


As long as I've got accessible space that's the size of a human body, you are welcome to it. I've live in collective housing that has largely opened our doors to traveller folks, friend folks, family folks, and stranger folks. I suppose I surf and host intermittently, but this community's philosophy is always incorporated into my lifestyle no matter what end I'm on..!


Hosting at my place, surfing at yours. The cycle repeats. Only positive interactions so far - lets keep that going


Freeganism, veganism, waste reclamation, upcycling, salvaging, scavenging, brewing beer, tiny homes movement, growing food, tenting, hitchhiking, hiking, biking, juggling, acro yoga, slacklining, slide guitar, washer toss, cards, social justice, human rights, radical radio, natural building, beekeeping.

Music, Movies, and Books


One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climbed my first volcano when I was nine.

The rest is history.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to keep bees, brew beer, ferment foods (and drinks), make bread, carve wood, slackline, and fuck consumption!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Costa Rica, France, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Spain, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United Arab Emirates

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamsyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups