Logo orange

Tara L Mamchuk

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Backpacker :)
  • Master of Arts in Counselling
  • From Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make many international friends even though I have an "L" between my first and last names. (I wish I could erase it!!!)

ABOUT ME

As a traveller I like to keep things open-ended and not plan too much in advance which I recognize is such a cliché. Once and awhile though I get to a point where I feel lost if there is too much unknown and that eats me up a bit. I am the worst at backpacking because I always accumulate too much stuff... especially fresh produce when it is time to move on to my next destination. I LOVE markets - especially ones with produce, baked goods, and crafts. I sometimes feel like a ninja turtle when I wear my backpacks because they are green... lol. And yup, I definitely have Canadian flags on my bags!

Overall, I am an enthusiastic gal and can be pretty chatty. I love to laugh and I have been known to get people laughing with my quirkiness!

These days I am starting to get really freaked out by the toxins in food and beauty products. I am a bit of a hypocrite though because I loooove sweets and won't be giving those up any time soon. When I am less nomadic, I would like to try making my own soaps and lotions.

PHILOSOPHY

I think it's important to be positive, yet realistic. Although I don't attempt to classify every single interaction, I do wonder about "A Reason, a Season, or a Lifetime" and how people who I have crossed paths with possibly fit. More recently I have decided that I only want to give people as much time and energy as they are willing to give me.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I search for friends I have yet to meet... :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Before I joined CS, I had an unofficial couchsurfing experience. During my time in Marseille, I met a fellow Canadian who was living and teaching in the Lincolnshire area of England. He invited me to stay with him and we visited York together.

As for official CS experiences... I stayed with one CS member in Paris and I felt so welcomed in her home. It was refreshing to hang out with a local and to get a first-hand peek at how locals live. I also met up with someone else in Paris who was willing to do dinner and see the Eiffel Tower one last time with me!

Interests

I LOVE to eat but am much less invested in the cooking process. For any activities, food is a top priority for me... lol. I really enjoy trying different "ethnic" restaurants.

I like going for walks and hikes (but keep in mind that I am a prairie girl and come from a region that is flat, flat, flat!) I have a love-hate relationship with running (which is more so jogging by other people's standards) but I like it more when I have great pump-up tunes and an event I am training for. Back home I like to do bootcamps and zumba to keep fit.

I love trying new things (with guidance... because I am far from being a natural!).

Music, Movies & Books

I love the heart and soul of country music but I am into top 40 too.

I am not much of a movie person. I would sooner socialize with people!

I have shamefully not read a book for fun in forever. I have a couple of French books I picked up in Paris and Girl with a Dragon Tattoo that are patiently waiting for me...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have overcome cancer. I was told by one doctor that I would never run again and I HAVE! In June 2011, I completed my first half-marathon since I was diagnosed. My time was slow but I DID IT! In 2012, I did the same half-marathon and I improved my time by 10 minutes!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to practice speaking in French. I did my entire primary and secondary education in a French immersion program but sadly, I do not have the best vocabulary and I am not as fluent as I should be. I would love to spend some time with someone who could help me chat up a storm in French.

I would also love to spend time cooking with someone! As previously mentioned, I love eating but not so much the cooking part. Socializing and being exposed to new recipes or techniques could liven up cooking for me. I think it would be great to enjoy cooking as much as I love eating!

I think my greatest gift is my enthusiasm.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile