Tara Sherry-Torres's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Social Worker
  • Master in Social Work
  • From Brooklyn, NY
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I go for mine, I gots to shine...welcome to the a good life...a GOZAR!

ABOUT ME

Hello! My name is Tara, I was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY and now I live in the beautiful city of Pittsburgh. A city girl by nature, I am very outgoing, bubbly, open minded and always down for fun times. I love traveling to new places and meeting new people. So interesting to me to see how other people in the world live, eat and communicate. The nerd in me loves exploring cities (walking or public transportation are preffered) and learning about sustainable development in each place I visit. However, I am just as happy on a beach (or anywhere really) with a cold beer in my hand, some good food and great company. I've traveled abroad significantly, mainly places in South America but also India and Europe.
Currently I work as a social worker focusing on issues such as advocacy, community development, real estate and case management. My job allows me to be in contact with all kinds of people on a daily basis and I love it for that reason. When I am not working I am usually in my kitchen baking up some goodies or cooking up a storm. I LOVE cooking for others and have no problem cooking for you!

Hola! Me llamo Tara, soy de Brooklyn, NY pero ahora vivo en Pittsburgh. Soy una persona amable con mucho energia. Me gusta mucho a conocer la gente y aprender como la vida es en otro pias'. Tambien, me encanta a cocinar y puedo cocinar para ti! Mi mama es de Puerto Rico, entonces puedo hablar espanol mas que puedo escribirlo. Si tienes preguntas por favor, preguntalos!

PHILOSOPHY

I drink champagne when I'm thirsty!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Currently my apartment is very small, so I do not have the room for any guests, but hopefully that will change soon. In the meantime I am looking for places to saty for my trip to Brasil in December.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is my first time trying out CouchSurfing!

Interests

Cooking, baking, cities, walking, beer, wine, beach, sunshine, laughter, shoes, clothing, good conversation, scary movies, swimming, running, being with my friends, NYC, traveling, anything Spanish or Latin American related.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • breakfast
  • wine
  • beer
  • baking
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • swimming
  • economics
  • history
  • social work
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Calle 13, Julieta Venegas, Jay-Z, Tribe Called Quest, Juan Luis Guerra, Aventure, The Dream, Willie Colon, La India, The Temptations.

When Harry Met Sally, The Neverending Story, any horror flick.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This is a tough one, but I will say that going to the Golden Temple in Amritsar in India gave me goosepimples.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I know about: Latin American history, politics and economics (especially the Spanish speaking Caribbean islands), urban planning, American social and political structures, NYC anything, community organizing/advocacy, cooking good food, baking breads and breakfast treats.

I want to continue to learn to be a better cook and baker - always looking for new recipes. In general, I love hearing about people's lives and where they come from, what shaped their perspective in this world, how do other cultures see the world etc. I am a sponge. Teach me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, France, India, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!