Фотографии пользователя Ted McCarthy

Верификация не пройдена

  • Платежные данные не подтверждены
  • Телефон не подтвержден
  • Личность не подтверждена
  • Адрес не подтвержден

Не принимает гостей

  • Последний раз на сайте: about 4 years назад

Зарегистрируйтесь на Couchsurfing, чтобы увидеть полный профиль пользователя Ted. Это бесплатно!

Обзор

  • 3 Отзывs 2 Подтвержденные хостом и гостем
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, German, Spanish, Turkish
  • 33, Male
  • Пользователь с 2012
  • PhD student at the University of Washington.
  • Образование не указано
  • Из Littleton, CO, USA
  • Профиль заполнен на 85%

Обо мне

CURRENT MISSION

Working toward a PhD! And to meet interesting people and have a good time en route, hopefully.

ABOUT ME

I love to meet new people, and am happy to talk to just about anyone! I'm a first-year PhD in biomedical and health informatics at the University of Washington, Seattle. I'm just getting started with (formally) couch surfing, though I've been wanting to give it a shot for literally years.

PHILOSOPHY

Keep learning, stay friendly, stay open, and above all, never stop reformulating your own personal philosophy.

Что привело меня на Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm relatively new to the whole Couch Surfing thing, but am excited to see how it goes!

We have a couch and a spare bed in my house for now, which is actually decently comfy. (I've spent a couple nights on it while friends were in town.)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I tried CouchSurfing for the first time on my drive out to Seattle in August 2012, and it was great! Besides that, I've spent a good few years sleeping on couches, floors, and in the occasional tent.

Интересы

I love traveling and learning languages. I'm originally from Colorado, and enjoy the usual outdoorsy stuff that comes with that territory - running, hiking, skiing, camping. I enjoy less active things, too - reading, writing, a little computer programming, listening to and playing music, and watching movies. (A little cooking too, though I'm not amazing at it.) I really like meeting new people, and seeing new places!

  • writing
  • cooking
  • running
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • languages

Классная вещь, которую я сделал(-а)

I lived in Ankara, Turkey teaching English for a year after college, which was easily one of the best experiences of my life. I was able to meet and teach lots of amazing people, and was able to travel lots in the surrounding region.

I had a chance to run a 100-mile ultramarathon through Nevada (along the east side of Lake Tahoe) a few years ago. It was honestly one of the most interesting experiences I've had - not just the event itself, but all the people I got to meet during the race were truly amazing as well.

Учу, учусь, делюсь опытом и информацией

In the theme of teaching, I guess I'm a bit of a zealot for OpenCourseWare (OCW) and Open Educational Resources (OER), and though I haven't tried any of them, Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) seem to be gaining a lot of traction, too. Coursera, Udacity, and MITx are among this last group, and Khan Academy, MIT, Stanford, Utah State, the University of Michigan, and many others offer OpenCourseWare and OER - I have a running list of these if you're interested, or OCWConsortium.com is a good place to start searching, too! All of these are great ways to find full, excellent, and FREE course material in just about any subject via videos, power point slides, and other means online.

I'm happy to talk about any of these things with anyone if you're interested! (Other stuff too, of course!)

Где я побывал(-а)

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Kenya, Lebanon, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Kingdom

Где я жил(-а)

Denmark, India, Turkey, United States

Значки старожила

  • Vouches
    1 Поручиться

Зарегистрируйтесь на Couchsurfing, чтобы увидеть полный профиль пользователя Ted. Это бесплатно!