Terje_ling's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Terje_ling’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 72 References 46 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning French, Italian, Malayalam, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Freelance translator who dabbles in writing.
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Developing a hostel in Lofoten, Norway.


I never dreamed about becoming anything specific, like a doctor, mechanic or astronaut. And selecting one thing to focus on was never really my thing. I like to learn a bit about everything, at my own pace.

Somehow I became a translator and writer. Mainly by chance, although I always wanted to "work with something online" so I could be my own boss and be free from geographical ties.
I enjoy personal growth and expanding my understanding of the world.

I just bought an old building in Lofoten, Norway, and will be spending a year or three there turning it into a hostel.


There is a childrens story in norway called Folk og røvere i Kardemomme by, about a city where the only law is this: You shall not bother other people. You have to be nice and kind. Other than that you can do whatever you want.

Its a silly kids story but I still like that law and try to live by it.

I live for learning new things, seeing new places, reading new books, tasting new meals, falling in love with new people, hearing new songs...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By hosting and meeting people while travelling.


I hosted a lot, and surfed a few times.


Reading great books, watching good movies.
Travelling. Meeting new people. Trying to figure out how the world works.

There are few things I enjoy more than leaning back on my pillows or in a hammock with a good book and a cool drink while the thoughts spin in my head.

Short story of what I do with my days is that I travel around the world trying to learn new things and have a good time.

In addition to regular traveling (seeing the sights, eating the eats, drinking the drinks and sleeping/reading in the hammocks) I like to find individuals and organizations who interest me and spend some time with them to learn about what they do and what life is like for them.

These days I am focusing on equality and women's rights issues, on a global, intercultural scale.

I am interested in how the way people perceive society and reality is affected by their cultural point of view.

Not too long from now I will buy a farm in the countryside somewhere (Most likely Norway or Sweden). The dream is to relax, breathe, read a million books, maybe try to write one as well, grow some vegetables, make stuff and hopefully surround myself with interesting, creative people who I will invite to stay with me so they can get a chance to work on their art or writing projects.

  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • languages
  • law
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes, most definitely.. All kinds of books, at the moment I am trying to get used to reading on my fancy new Kobo reader but I am missing the smell of paper and the way it feels.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ask me in person.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn anything arts&crafts related, and cooking. New ways of doing things make me happy. If I get to spend my entire life learning new things I think that would be the best possible life.

I would especially like to learn:
Playing the Tres (cuban guitarish instrument)
Making pies

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Belgium, Belize, Canada, China, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Guatemala, India, Norway, Spain, Uruguay

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Terje_ling’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups