Mareen Gehlich-Shillabeer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mareen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Nurse
  • MSc Public Health
  • From Wegberg, NRW, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To go every month to a different country for a short trip. Suggestions welcome ...

ABOUT ME

What can I say about myself ... I think silent waters run deep sums it up perfectly. What you see is definitely not what you get, just remember that when you find yourself in a place or space you are having loads of fun but never thought of going to.

My hobbies really define who I am ... so take a look below

PHILOSOPHY

"As a body everyone is single, as a soul never" (Hermann Hesse)- that's why I love traveling and meeting people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

UP till sporadically - more meeting people and places is on the card. And happy to be the guide in London from March 2017.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Had my first couchsurfing experience in 2011 and met some lovely people in the CZ Republic at the Rock for People festival. But since then I have been a bit slack on this site. So the second resolution is ... to be more active both as local guide (sorry can't host at the moment) and in discovering new people and places via CS. Let's meet up somewhere ...

Interests

Food, food and more food is my main hobby. This is followed by music (from Beethoven to Rammstein as long as it is loud), traveling (esp. if it involves the great outdoors, activities and/or animals). To keep everyone warm, I can knit a mean hat, scarf and/or gloves for anyone willing to brave the elements with me :-)

  • books
  • festivals
  • education
  • running
  • comics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Right now I am in a movie and book phase .... because it is winter and I like to be indoors.
Summer - a lot of times it involves traveling to and working at festivals in the UK as a medic - so music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Working for a humanitarian aid agencies. I learnt that happiness is a state of mind. Independent of material things and a lifesaver during dark hours.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing is the best - and generates the most happy memories.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Negotiable with the host

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bangladesh, Cambodia, Germany, India, Nepal, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mareen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups