Logo orange

Thecla Rae McMillan

North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thecla Rae's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • University
  • From Vancouver, BC
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Change

ABOUT ME

I'm currently majoring in Math and Biology at the University of British Columbia and minoring in Human Kinetics. I love to play sports, especially Alpine Skiing. I love travelling, hiking, cycling, spending time with my friends and family, cooking, reading, and enjoying life's simpler pleasures. If I had it my way, I'd grow my own produce in my backyard garden! I guess that means I'd need a garden, first.

PHILOSOPHY

I hold really high morals and values that I try to live up to. I am not judgmental and I try and see things from different perspectives. I try and learn from others; so many people have experienced similar things that I have, so I may as well learn from them instead of making the same mistakes (although this isn't always inevitable!). I love reading books for this reason!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm looking for people to meet and places to stay at the moment while I'm travelling, especially because I'm travelling on my own. I find that my experience in a new city depends a lot on the people I meet. I could be in the coldest, rainiest, most unattractive city ever but have a wonderful time if I have a good connection with people. And vice versa. When I return home I will definitely have my couch open for other travelling people!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couch surfed in Ireland, Spain, Scotland, and Greece and met lots of really kind people. I ended up hosting some of the people I stayed with in Ireland which was amazing! Each one of them is welcome to come and stay with me in Vancouver when I return home!

Interests

Animals, children, family, friends, travels, the outdoors, sports, music (especially piano), arts (especially street, stencil, and urban art), food.

Music, Movies & Books

Jane Eyre is my favorite book and movie of all time. I'm into sappy love stories, comedy, and a bit of action. I'm an idealist, so no horror films. I'm sometimes too emotional to even handle the news. I wish I could make a difference. So I try, and I volunteer as much as I can. I'm a Big Sister back in Vancouver, which is an organization that matches older girls with younger ones who may be less fortunate or have some sort of struggle. The whole point of the program is to give the younger girl a friend, a role model, and someone to love them. Every week we go out on outings such as to markets or plays or movies, or stay in and cook or do crafts, or go and play sports.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

All my travels have been amazing. Climbing Devil's Tower, seeing the Olympics live, hiking to Garibaldi lake in Squamish, and hiking in Connemara in Ireland are amongst the highlights.
But seeing my newborn niece takes the cake.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could both teach and learn more about cooking and baking! English is my first language but I'm also fluent in French. I could also teach skiing if you're up for it! And if you come when there's snow..

Join Couchsurfing to see Thecla Rae's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile