Logo orange

Ashley Slater

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Musician
  • I have a B.F.A. in film. Please don'...
  • From Surrey, BC, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

locate my pants.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 31 year old Vancouverite. I grew up in the suburbs and moved out after graduating from university with a film degree. I worked for a kid's cartoon for a long time, but had a change of heart. I began to teach myself guitar and worked as a nanny for a few years. I quit my dayjob last year when my career took off. I work from home, managing/booking two projects. I like to read, write short stories, play board games, cook for my friends, and run.

I don't smoke cigarettes, but I can keep up at the bar if need be. I'm also 420 friendly.

My roommates are awesome of an equal or lesser value. Just kidding. My roommate Mark is a 31 year old, highly educated ESL teacher - but is currently unemployed. He likes languages, Star Trek, D&D, and baking cookies.

My other roommate Matt (aka Manfred, the Manfriend) is a 30 y/o Forestry masters student at UBC. His hair changes colour all the time (with dye. not cuz he's a mutant or anything). He reads tarot cards. He rides his bike a lot. He loves life and hates to miss out on anything, especially fun.

PHILOSOPHY

Why worry when you can wonder?

And also, a comet is just a comet.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I went to many CS parties in NYC and began my involvement there. It was too fun for words! I also couchsurfed in San Francisco and went to the CS party there as well. I have hosted a number of travelers in Vancity, and I also generally enjoy couches.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My whole perspective on travel has changed because of this website. Its absolutely the way to go, no question about it.

Interests

music, film, visual art, short stories, cooking, scotch, naps, massage, the ocean, genetics, lucid dreaming, feminism, animals, poetry, cosmology, mythology, guitar, vox, humanitarianism, cartoons, philosophy, jogging, swimming, biking, conscious consumerism, prehistory, the artistic process, people.

Music, Movies & Books

Jeff Buckley, Diane Cluck, Edith Piaf, Nina Simone, Tim Buckley, Frank Zappa, Paul Simon, Matt Andersen, Joni Mitchell, Ani diFranco, Leonard Cohen, The Boom Booms, Bjork, The Isley Brothers, Joy Division, Radiohead, Janis Joplin, Bob Dylan, QOTSA, The Band, Neil Young, Queen, Silly Wizard, Mos Def, David Bowie, Ms. Mills, Samuel Barber, Bach, Mozart, Debussy, Sigur Ros, The Pixies, Abida Parveen, Prince, Lhasa, Fat Freddy's Drop, Moulettes, Tequila Mockingbird Orchestra, Movits, Half Moon Run, Black Angels, God Speed You Black Emperor... it goes on...

First 10 Movies I Think of: Amelie, Mary and Max, Garbage Warrior, Adaptation, Baraka, The Sacrifice, Monty Python's The Meaning of Life, Waking Life, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Alive Inside

Books I'm Reading Right Now (this usually saves time): Choose Your Own Adventure Hamlet

One Amazing Thing I've Done

visited 21 states (9.33%)Create your own visited map of The World or Best time to visit Zaragoza

Teach, Learn, Share

Okay: I can do some stuff. I can cook thai food, my curry is best. I can do a full body thai massage. I sing and play the guitar. I use Final Cut Pro to edit movies. I can fold shirts really fast. I used to bartend, so I got some good boozipies. I can make dreads. I make tasty chocolate truffles, often special. Um... I can make stuffed animals out of old stockings. I can ride a bike. I can organize your crap. I'm a good driver. I can solve a rubix cube (its not that hard, trust me).

Countries I've Visited

Barbados, Botswana, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Mexico, Namibia, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile