Logo orange

Thrudur Helgadottir

Reykjavik, Greater Reykjavik, Iceland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thrudur's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 42 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic, Spanish; learning Chinese, Danish, French, German, Japanese, Portuguese, Quechua
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • Supervisor at Landmannalaugar Café
  • Iceland Tour Guide School. Currently...
  • From Hella, Iceland
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Want to see the whole world and meet loads of people!

ABOUT ME

Hi! I'm Thru, an Icelander born and raised in the small village of Hella in South Iceland but living in Reykjavik. I'm studying geology at the University of Iceland and loving it! Think I finally found my place :-) Then I work in Landmannalaugar in the summer. I love travelling, like most people here, but I also love the outdoors, kayaking, diving, photography, badminton, listening to music, playing on my Wii, watching TV, going to the movies, hanging out with friends and other things I can't remember at this point in time. Have lived in Iceland, Denmark, Argentina and Chile but for some reason I keep coming back to Iceland :-P

PHILOSOPHY

For some people, family is life. For me, travelling is life.
Where there's a will there's a way.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've received CouchSurfers to my home in Iceland, Denmark and Argentina! I`ve surfed people`s couches in Chile, Argentina, Ecuador, England, Mexico and Morocco. I have lots of friends from the CS project and making new ones on the road all the time! It`s incredible!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

SURFING 2010:January: Carlos Figueroa in Quito, EcuadorOscar in Machala, EcuadorFebruary: Noler in La Serena, ChileMarch: Carlos Granados in Mexico City, MexicoCarlos Garcia in Morelia, Mexico HOSTING 2011:3-7/01: Pierre & Shiraz from the UK7-9/01: Aimée & Daniel from Germany28/01: Mariska from Holland30/01-01/02: Benjamin & Consuelo from Chile11-13/02: Cesar from Brazil24-26/02: Liliana from Chile24-26/02: Christophe from France3-5/03: Nandi from USA16/06: Hadelin from France21-22/06: Michael & John from USA29/06-1/7: Alvaro & Erwan from Chile29/06-5/07: Ian from Brazil5-8/07: Liz & Stacy from USA15-17/07: Anne & Pasi from Finland18-19/07: Maxime & Christelle from France21-23/07: Vijay from USA24-26/07: Paulius from Lithuania26-29/7: Alexander & Kate from Georgia29-30/7: Caroline & Guillaume from France30/7-1/8: Kacper from Poland31/7-1/8: Daniel from Poland2-3/8: Marc from Spain3-5/8: Nieves from Spain6-9/8: Javi from Spain11-13/8: Jamie from New Zealand12-16/8: Jorge from Spain 13-15/8: Pili & Friend from Spain16-18/8: Sarah from Denmark24-27/8: Clayton from Brazil24-26/8: Drew from USA31/8-3/9: Tegan from Canada2-7/9: Kurt from USA7/9-2/10: I WILL BE IN CHILE!21-23/12: Marshall from USASURFING 2011:September: Luciano in Coquimbo, Chile Noler in La Serena, ChileCote & Benjamin in Santiago, ChileOctober: Michael in New York, USAHOSTING 2012:11-19/2: Karine from France20/2-15/3: Rodrigo from Mexico1/4: Moved to ChileHOSTING 2014:23-29/3: Dennis from Denmark

Interests

Travelling
Photography
Dogs
Everything with rum in it
Cats
Movies
Music (rock, reggeaton, salsa, cumbia)
Exotic food
The Outdoors
Diving
Kayaking
Nintendo
Badminton

Music, Movies & Books

Favourite Movie: The Green Mile
Favourite Book: House of the Spirits - Isabel Allende, Trading with the Enemy, Led by Destiny - Kinga Freespirit, The Shining - Stephen King.
Favourite bands: Staind, The Prodigy, Nirvana, Manu Chao, Korn, Coldplay, Quarashi
Favourite TV shows: Friends, Supernatural, Homeland, The Following, Misfits, Big Bang Theory, How I met your mother.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

visited 28 countries (12.4%)
▪ Sailing through the entire Amazon from south to north
▪ Living with Kichwa indians in the Amazon jungle http://www.wachimak.com - and being made godmother of a little Kichwa boy
▪ Visiting my sponsored children in Guatemala and Colombia
▪ Spending Christmas with the Hmong people of Thailand
▪ Biking down the World`s most Dangerous Road

Teach, Learn, Share

After being a CS Host for some time now, I've come to see that some people don't get what CouchSurfing is about - so to avoid all misunderstanding, I want to tell you a few things you should keep in mind while staying at my place, or in fact anybody's place, in order for the experience to be positive for all of us:

▪ In Iceland, people take their shoes off in the entrance of a persons home.
▪ Don't leave a mess behind - someone's home is not a hotel
▪ Respect your host's time - they're not on holiday like you, most of them work and therefore might not be able to spend as much time with you as they'd wish
▪ Don't abuse your host's hospitality, asking them to do things for you, Icelanders generally have a hard time saying "No" even though they don't have the time and may make them feel uncomfortable.
▪ Don't bring friends to your host's home without asking for permission
▪ Don't wake up your host to say goodbye if leaving in the middle of the night, unless you feel like you and your host really bonded - people need their sleep and they have lives outside CouchSurfing. Say goodbye before going to bed.
▪ Don't eat your host's food unless they've told you you can - it's not nice suddenly realizing there's nothing in the fridge cause it's been eaten by visitors
▪ If you might be coming back to Reykjavík and you might want to crash at my place after tripping around Iceland, put down a PRECISE day for me to mark in my calendar and CALL / send SMS / e-mail to confirm 1-2 days before - don't just show up at my door!
▪ Leave a reference after your stay - I won't leave one for you if you don't, unless my experience with you was particularly bad
▪ If you decide to bring a gift to your host in Iceland (me or anybody else), strong alcohol (rum, vodka etc) is always a strong choice as alcohol prices in Iceland are ridiculously high (the cheap ones are around US$60 / €40 per 1 litre bottle).

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Chile, Denmark, Iceland

Join Couchsurfing to see Thrudur's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile