Ivo Plsek

Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivo’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Japanese; learning Chinese, Russian
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student
  • U.C. Berkeley
  • From Bzenec, Czech Republic
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Research in Tokyo


I grew up in a really small town with less than 4000 people, southeastern part of Moravia, the Czech Republic. I left when I was 18 to spend most of my time overseas in major cities of the Far East (Seoul, Beijing and Tokyo) and the United States. Still a big part of who I am is influenced by where I grew up.


Nothing profound...once I was told that many people have great ideas about how to live their life; but only a few do so. I try to be the latter than the former.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'd like to meet new people while visiting other places and offer my couch when I am at home.


Joined just a year ago but so far I've had only the best experiences with people I met.


Traveling and languages, foreign cultures and their history. And books. Apart from reading the stuff I need to read for my work, I enjoy biographies and historical novels.
I am also very keen on sports, play actively tennis and squash and watch almost any sport on TV if time allows it. Love hikking too.
Last but not last I have alwasy enjoyed hitchiking though have not done much of that recently.

Music, Movies, and Books

I'd say that my taste is all over the board. Watch and listen to anything which is good, genre doesn't really matter.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Picking up 4 peanuts at the same time with chopsticks. Hitchhiked all the way from Germany to Syria,had to fly back:-) .Trekking in the Himalayas, Nepal and Tibet. Visiting mountain villages of Myanmar.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: hm....I've spent several years of my life living in East Asia and probably can talk a lot about that region (particularly Japan). And I know a lot about Roger Federer, if that interests you:-).

Learn: I'd like to learn about the place where you live and about your own life experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Finland, France, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Laos, Malaysia, Monaco, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Poland, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Japan, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivo’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups