Tom Michels's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • none, still studying
  • Industrial Engineer
  • From Ghent, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a student of 20 years old and I live in Ghent, Belgium.
I study Industrial Engineer in University. I like to live with a less money as possible, espacially when I travel. Travelling is mostly by hitchhiking, which is of course a nice way too meet people. Too find a couch I never used couchsurfing, 'cause I prefer sleeping in a tent. Or just finding a couch by accidant, by meeting people in the streets!

Sleeping at my couch:
If school isn't asking too much time, I can host friendly travellers :) So if you don't have much money and don't take planes every month, I'd love to have a chat with you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travelling around and discover places is one thing, doing this cheap and meet meanwhile nice people too, is another. And of course because the local people know there city as the best.

Interests

History, physics, a good party, the human being, sports and the climate change, all very interesting.
I'm planning to change the world as much as possible in a good way, so if you're into climate change we can talk about that at least!
For the moment I'm having a chat with as much as people as possible, to get to understand a bit better the human being.

  • arts
  • running
  • partying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • sports
  • martial arts
  • rock climbing
  • engineering
  • history
  • physics
  • hitchhiking
  • climate change

Music, Movies, and Books

Jazz, blues, folk, pop. Name it on, I'm not that choosy. Usually, I read and watch thrillers, but also books about philosophy. For the moment I just watched Mandela's movie, very inspriring!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One day at the age of 16, I decided with a friend to hitch-hike for our very first time, to Marseille (France). Two days later, we went. We had not that much preparation: some food, some money, a tent and a marker. If you want to know the rest, I'd like to tell it yourself :D

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn about places, people, history. I would like to improve my Spanish and German too!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can learn you some Dutch or, if you don't speak French yourself, some French.
If your interested in martial arts, I can learn you a little bit how to defend yourself. Besides that i would love to share my enthousiasm about changing the world, because it is possible!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, England, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!