Not Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Xavier’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 166 References 101 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Czech, Hindi, Malagasy, Malay, Persian (Farsi)
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • nomadic lifestyle
  • Studied 5 university years and have learnt one profession...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The Description below is still accurate, although some drastic changes have been occuring in the last 2 years. Got married in Chile in Jan. 2015 with Tere, got a baby called Andina in Dec. 2016. While welcoming our beloved girl in a warm place at my parents' we constructed a comfy camper almost from scratch. In April 2016 it's finally ready to take our lovely family around Europe, and, who knows, towards other continents. Still on a nomadic lifestyle, we hope to live on our handcraft jewlery work, as we already did in South America (yet without baby), and on casual jobs here and there as the opportunities come.


I grew up in south-west of france in a sea-shore resort village near Bordeaux.
Before leaving it at 18, I thought the world was run by seasonal restaurants and china-made traditional handcrafts merchants.
When studying in an engineering school far from home, I discovered that some people were also working in offices, and that I would probably live my life this way as pursuing a carreer and becoming an "important person" seemed to be the norm.
In 2004 I applied eventually for an exchange year in a foreign school. I "chose" Mexico as it was the last available option left to me among all booked european cities. It changed my life, and my vision. I realized in Mexico that some people could live differently, have different focus in life, believe in different ideas and superstitions, than we do in tiny south-west-France.
I eventually came back, got graduated, worked in offices, designed some unethical strange machines, forgot about the world around.
I understood after 3 years that I didn't really want this life. I remembered Mexico, abroad, others, lands, lives, diversity, love, humility, smiles, pathes, uncertainty, fears, emotions, and priceless moments of simple life...
I quit.
I travelled for a while, from europe to asia.
I got lost in time, space, and love.
I am not a vagabond, I always come back. But I leave again, I'm not sure yet why.
I lost tracks of what is called a reasonnable life and I don't know whether I want to reach them back or continue in the jungle of emotions the world hides in each corner of the continents...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Again, the description below still accurate, and I'll add this: As we welcome our little Andina in this world, we wish to socialize her since the very beginning, so she can grow making so many friends around and learning so many cultures. The best way for her to live an adaptative and tolerant life.
Hosting whenever I can (having no permanent home gives me less chances, but still I do it sometimes).
Being hosted, I usually try to surf in the countryside where people have too few (sometimes never have) couch requests. Also I try to introduce newcomers on couchsurfing by giving them clues and advices about the website and the community.

Couchsurfed in almost all of the countries I visited.
Hosted people from various countries when living in France, Switzerland, Australia, Malaysia, Chile.


-getting lost in the countryside of any country, including mine.
-skiing, though I didn't practice much in the last few years due to my new focuses on life.
-food. I love eating, everywhere, delicious foods. Don't forget I'm french!
-cheese (yes it deserves a dash apart from the previous one!!)
-writing : I like to write, ideas and travel experiences. If you read french, try this is my blog [might be on standby those days because I've been away from my keyboard since the very day I fell in love with she who is now my wife]

  • writing
  • dining
  • recipes
  • cheese
  • running
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • camping
  • skiing
  • engineering
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

The movies and books I enjoy generally have something to tell on a historical, cultural, philosophical, scientific or anthropology level, even as a background of a fiction story.
Same thing for the movies, though I sometimes enjoy an action movie when I really don't want to think much.
I don't like to read or watch something just in order to hide the clock and wait for the next day to come. When I don't have the material to pass time, I prefer doing nothing, staying with my thoughts, waiting with comfort, and thinking about life. This way I sometimes find clues about mysteries of life! I never get bored. I don't know much how I can do that, it just happen.
Music preferences on alternative-rock, balkanic-rock, trip-hop, french text songs, folkroric and local bands from the countries I visit... From my travel I could then add up Persian folk, north indian/pakistani themes, North Argentinian Folklore (like Chamamé and such), Chilean Cueca, Equatorian folks, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

a baby!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to say "my mother is an octopus" in more than 30 languages! And i'll be gratefull if you teach me that in your language or dialect!
I can teach some french recipes, in the limit of the availability of the ingredients in your country.
I want to learn, only learn, whatever it is!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Chile, Ecuador, France, Malaysia, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    25 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Xavier’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups