Tracy Kason's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tracy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Clinician
  • Social Work
  • From Prince George, BC, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Seek novelty, like adversity (what doesn't kill me...), get sidetracked by the irrelevant and quirky. Like unpredictability of situations - but like reliable people.
I am married and have a 22 year old daughter. Testing out my first small dog, a cavalier puppy who is consistently happy.

I am suspicious of people who don't like beer.
PHILOSOPHY

Interconnectedness. Reciprocity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mostly for meeting up for short bursts of activities - usually in for day hikes/snowshoeing/food/coffee/art dates.
Recently was glad to host couchsurfers from Nova Scotia for 1 week.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed in Turkey and Malta. I prefer to rent a hotel and use CS for meet ups.

Interests

Community, people, mental health & addictions, carpets/textiles, hiking, historic trails, both rustic and haute cuisine, antiques, language, history, visual arts, mandalas, thrift stores, dogs, costumes, cabin living, volunteerism. Alternative views, reasoned views that counter my own.

  • dogs
  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • thrifting
  • painting
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snowshoeing
  • communications
  • history
  • religion
  • visual arts

Music, Movies, and Books

Authors: Rohinton Mistry, Will Ferguson, Charles Bukowsky, Ken Follett, Augusten Burroughs, Anthony Bourdain, John Steinbeck, Khaled Hosseini, Gary Jennings.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Canoed the Bowron Chain (116 km); hitched a ride on a private jet to Greenland; played with a baby jaguar in the Orinoco head waters; watched grizzly bears fishing; stung by a stingray; took sailing lessons; ground my own paint from semi-precious stones in a Tibetan sacred art class. I have adopted a special needs kid.

Helped organize a free portrait studio for mental health.
Help organize Rotary's Big Blue Ball.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am patient at teaching English. I love to cook and learn cooking techniques. Visual arts - acrylic, mixed media, charcoal.

Get very excited about linguistics though cannot retain it for the life of me.

Not a fan of religion.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Enthusiasm. Debate. Cooking. Art. Conversation. Wine. Business. Social work.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, England, Greenland, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Japan, Malta, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Thailand, Turkey, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Tracy’s full profile.