Logo orange

TRAV_HEL

Blois, Centre, France

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see TRAV_HEL's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Malagasy, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • part time volunteer gardener/Etholog...
  • Master's degree in behavioural biology
  • From Compiegne, Picardy, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to go back on the roads!!!! And find nice CSers to host or meet me on the way (am a bit rusty after my last "travel" in Scotland transformed into a 4 years stay)

ABOUT ME

I am a late traveler who caught the travel bug and since does not want to stop travelling! I am not a country collector; my philosophy of travelling is that I prefer to stay for a long period of time in one country, to get to know it better, to experience the way of life,to meet new persons, volunteer (HelpX, Wwoofing, or just help people and Csers that I meet on the way) discover culture, nature and wildlife, local food...By the past I spent 9 months in Madagascar, did short trips in Europe and an amazing year trip in Australia. In may 2011 I decided to go to Scotland for 2-3 months.. and I couldn't help but fall in love for the place and the people...again... :) I stayed nearly 4 years... Now it is time to go back on the roads and to meet you on the way! I am thinking southern Europe, volunteering, working, but might end up going in a totally different direction...

PHILOSOPHY

Hard to find only 1 sentence that would define you, don't you think? BE open minded and try not to judge, help others and let them help you sometimes, learn from every new experience and encounter; everything happens for a reason and it's up to you to discover what...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Testing CSer hosts' couches, spare beds, air mattress, floors, tents.... and making french crepes in return (or other french dishes + a variety of other world food) . Giving travel tips if that can help...Teaching some french and english ...I'd love to do more and host myself in the future.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had great times all over Australia and Scotland with all my hosts and with the Csers I travelled with! Love the couchsurf cooking meeting concept, sharing walks, concerts etc! Would love to participate in more events around where I will stay once I settle down again.

Interests

Nature and animals, music (but I'm not a musician), reading, cinema, hillwalking, cooking (love it! French or world food), seeing my friends, volunteering, helping, discovering people and their way of life in the countries I visit... I am currently learning about organic gardening and permaculture.

Music, Movies & Books

MUSIC (changes with my mood): Amadou & Mariam, Tori Amos, Archive, Arctic monkeys,Ben Howard, Ben Harper, Bjork, Jeff Buckley, Coldplay, Cocoon, Eiffel (not Eiffel 65!!!), Florence and the machine, Ghinzu, Iron and wine, John Butler Trio, Kings of Leon, Into the wild ST, Mademoiselle K, Mano solo, Manu Chao, Muse, Nirvana, Noir desir, Phoenix, Peter von Poehl,Radiohead, Red hot chili peppers, All rock classics, Sigur Ros, The piano ST, Tom Mc Rae, Tryo, Xavier Rudd.. . BOOKS: a mix of novels, travel and animal guides, a bit of self help books (meditation etc), and too many timetables ! But I love reading: Paul Auster, Johnatan Coe, Stieg Larsson, Haruki Murakami, Kazuo Ishiguro, Richard Russo, David Treuer, Allan Watts, Eckhart Tolle.. to name a few!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

studying lemurs behaviour in the middle of the Malagasy rainforest (living 35 km from the first village), working with wolves, saving tortoises, travelling...

In Australia: walking around Uluru, Tasmania, seeing a sea turtle nesting, looking for the platypus, waking up in a national park surrounded by wallabys, pademelons and these strange bush turkeys, swimming with manta rays, Cuddling baby wombats/wallabys/kangaroos/possums in the wildlife refuge where I was volunteering! And even better: releasing them to the wild! Road trips on the west coast with my international gypsy family...

Teach, Learn, Share

french, english, spanish and a little bit of Malagasy animal behaviour, ecology, environmental issues, self sufficiency, gardening... cooking !!!! conversation To help you with your travels in one of the countries I visited, info on how to volunteer all over the world. I work for a charity that welcomes Helpx volunteers! contact me if interested!

What I Can Share With Hosts

Cooking, language, discussion, visits etc

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Egypt, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, France, Madagascar, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see TRAV_HEL's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile