Gary E. Rasche's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 76, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • I'm retired from working for a living. Tennis, sailing, t...
  • B.S. in education - used briefly!
  • From Born in Rogers City, MI, USA, grew up in a suburb of Detroit.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Would like to help further people's understanding of the major problem confronting mankind - global warming.

ABOUT ME

I'm fortunate enough to have good genes so I play the game I love a lot, tennis, and still compete with much younger people. My wife and I have lived aboard a 34' trimaran in the Caribbean for several years and a small cabin cruiser in Europe for a summer. Looking to get back to sailing, but dad is top priority for now. I have one brother, 1 1/2 yrs. older who lives near Detroit, no sisters. Am a progressive thinker.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe we should all live a "karmic" existence, whether or not karma actually exists. Leaving the world a better place is also high on my priority list, although so far I'm failing!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Because of several recent changes I haven't become involved in local stuff, but contribute to NPR, Link TV, etc. Hope to become involved in furthering climate change understanding locally.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far.

Interests

Politics, social interactions, some sports, but not much. We don't own a TV so don't follow organized national sporting events.

  • politics
  • tv
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • sports
  • tennis

Music, Movies, and Books

Watch some movies from Netflix, some are excellent, most are junk. Local library supplies most of my serious reading, and the New Yorker Magazine.
Music tastes: Classical, Opera, jazz, blues.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think crossing the Gulf of Mexico from Texas to Isla Mujeres, Mexico, was a highlight for me. Surfing 25' waves at the end capped it off. Of course, delivering my kids was OK too...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can certainly be a resource person for anyone interested in the simple life aboard.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Belize, Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile. It’s free!