Darragh Heenan

Tucson, AZ, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Darragh’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Japanese, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Dirtbagger
  • BFA - Printmaking (Lithography) from the University of Ar...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To make it count!


I just gave up my job on July 1, 2014 and hope to spend at least the next year traveling the world and getting in as much climbing as possible. My new address is my car license plate and I can't be more excited! I'm not spending much time planing out an itinerary as I prefer more spontaneous adventures and feel you miss out on opportunities if you have to follow specific plans.

So obviously climbing and travel are very important to me. I also am really into yoga and try to practice every day. I've been a vegan for about 7 years.


Strive for my happiness and well being....never do things because it's the easier option or what friends/family/society says should happen.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Just getting started. Hopefully I'll have the opportunity to meet amazing people in my journey around the world.


Nothing yet with CS. All of my previous experience comes from things happening spontaneously during my travels.


Rock climbing, veganism, volunteering, yoga, recycling, water harvesting, music (especially live), traveling, books, languages, art (creating/participating/viewing/printmaking/photography/sculpture), friends and family, singing, bagpipes, storytelling, meeting new people, food (vegan/raw), anything outdoors (climbing/hiking/kayaking/rafting/camping, etc.), animals and their welfare, dancing, beer, movies...always trying to find new interests.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Independent and Foreign; anything with Roberto Benigni (especially Life is Beautiful); Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels; Star Wars; In Bruges; Goonies; Pan's Labarynth; anyting with zombies; any western; any scifi; any Quentin Tarantino movie (Did I mention musicals?)

Music: all over the place Shovels & Rope, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Gogol Bordello, Gotye, Dirty Goods, The XX, Man Like Me, Deer Tick, Spoon, The Walkmen, Menomena, Alt-J, Beirut, Ewert and the Two Dragons, Audio Bullys, Fernquest, Alex Clare, Justin Townes Earle, Jose Gonzalez, Jesse Sheehan, Oasis, Stereophonics, Old Blind Dogs, Christy Moore, Paolo Nutini, Radiohead, Seasfire, The View, Washed Out, Yellow Ostrich, Frightened Rabbit, The Watanabes, anything with bagpipes, etc. etc. etc.

Books: I will read anything if I have time. Not a fan of romance novels, but will read them if it is my only option. My top 4 books in no particular order are: The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay; Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card; Trinity by Leon Uris; and The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A few years ago I went to Nagano with 10 strangers (long story) and was snowed in the cabin over New Year's Eve. It was one of the most memorable starts to a new year that I've ever had....and even better I've made some life long friends!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you about climbing or maybe make a vegan meal with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Dominican Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Darragh’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups