Logo orange

Ulla Heede

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Maybe Accepting Guests

25% response rate · Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ulla's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Forever dreaming of my next adventure
  • Life!
  • From Copenhagen
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Oh wow, new design - better update my profile then !
Here it goes-

My name is Ulla - I grew up in Copenhagen, and currently, I am studying for a 3 year degree in Geography at Cambridge University, so I'd say my life is pretty spread out between Denmark, UK and places I go travelling in between terms.
Before moving to England, I spent two years snowboarding and couchsurfing among other irresponsible activities, and those were some of the most defining and fun years of my life. I'd like to do a massive world trip after finishing my course.

Anyway, apart from studying I play a lot of music, mostly drums, recently also a bit of DJ'ing. I also like outdoor adventure stuff, and I like travelling. Usually, I find myself in the mist of starting up some new music projects or "planning" my next adventure. I've done many things on my own, I find it very freeing in a way, but I'm also pretty social and outgoing, and I enjoy interesting conversations and meeting new people.

I am not religious and I haven't really settled on a specific philosophy, although I've become a pretty convinced environmentalist the past years, and latest addition is being a vegetarian.

I could go on and on, but if I meet you, you'll find out for yourself anyway :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I am on Couchsurfing because it's THE best way to travel - end of story. I try to do a bit of hosting, when I am not travelling as well, but it turns out that studying at Cambridge is massively time-consuming. WHAT a disappointment!!!

No, but I do have a free evening from time to time, and my few hosting experiences have been a lot of fun.

Interests

I play drums as often as I can - mostly jazz. I will put a link to some music I've made on this page soon.
I also do a radio show with music from around the world on the student radio - check it out:
http://camfm.co.uk/shows/planet-fresh-sounds/

I like backcountry snowboarding, and basically anything involving remote mountains - but preferably covered in deep, deep snow! Hiking and camping should also make the list, a long with a bit of mountain biking, bouldering, running and kayaking. I've worked many shifts outdoor stores, so if you want to discuss equipment, I can go on forever.

My academic interests include climate change, atmospheric processes, glaciology, development and aid, environmentalism and green tech. On top of that goes all the other stuff, such as physics, philosophy, and sociology. Then there's the slightly less academic stuff, such as movies, books, series, beer and whiskey!

And needless to say, I like exploring, adventurous travelling and couchsurfing.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: This could take a while....

Favorite movies on the top of my head: Into the wild, Gravity, Schindler's list, Donnie Darko, and Memento. Probably lots more!

Authors I've enjoyed: J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter is a very close childhood-friend of mine), Franz Kafka, Paul Auster, Albert Camus and Jack Kerouac.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Spontaneously joining a road trip from Utah to Anchorage through Yukon territory in November.

Swimming in the fountain in front of the Art-house in Montreal and then running from the police in my underwear.

Eating coconuts with a man who lived in a cave on a remote beach in Brazil

Getting stuck in a snowstorm onboard a greyhound bus in Wyoming, and how that somehow restored my faith in humanity

Stuffing a van full of instruments and driving around Germany, playing for accommodation and food

Moving to the UK, and not being able to find one valid explanation for why there are two separate taps for hot and cold water in the bathrooms (okay, I am mostly kidding, but seriously though... just WHY?)

What I Can Share With Hosts

Company, cooking, cleaning, whatever - hopefully some laughs - and a portion of good CS karma

Obviously also a stay in return :)

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Malawi, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Denmark, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ulla's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile