Vanessa Ubert's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanessa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Italian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Montessori School Teacher
  • University
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I signed up here years ago when I travelled through India.
Back then I met this girl who had couchsurfed all her way from Europe to India and her journey continued for another one and a half years throughout the world. That young girl didn't seem to be someone that left her comfort zone very often... I was so very wrong. She had probably met more amazing people and experienced greater adventures than I could ever imagen. Her story impressed and motivated me to join this community.

After India, work and more exams filled my life and I forgot all about it. I have only recently realised a few weeks back while I was traveling to Zanziba, how much I had missed leaving my comfort zone, traveling by myself, feeling alive and happy.

There is so much to see, learn and experience out there. So it's my mission to travel to as many places as possible in the following years.
I believe that money should be the last thing to stop me from that goal!

I grew up in the countryside of Munich, left to live in Brighton when I was 16 for 2 years and finished school over there.
Studied at Uni back in Germany to become a teacher and basically stopped living for 2 whole years during my "practical teaching expericence and finaly exam years". I swore to myself to never forget: being open for new life lessons, loving, taking things as they come, and caring are way more important than planning ahead and working your butt off. Luckily, I have found the perfect job and school where I can truely be myself and happy, most importantly: a good teacher!
Make the world you want to live in!

I'm outgoing and love meeting new people as much as I enjoy time for myself!

I'm more than happy to get good advice and help with finding my way around the city (my orientational skills suck sometimes) but most of the time I won't be needing a babysitter.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet locals more than I need to see all the sightseeing spots in a new city. The best and most memorable trips were not those where I stayed in amazing hotels but where I met amazing people.

As a (Montessori School) teacher I have all this time off and motivation to travel but not enough money to spend it all on hostels and hotels.

My couch is being surfed on a lot! Friends and friends of friends are always welcome here. However, I myself have not officially couchsurfed yet.

Be the first to invite me to your home!

Interests

Strolling around the city, cooking, finding new restaurants, museums, life music, photography, drinking wine and having night long talks with inspirational people, watching too many series

  • photography
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • bbq
  • partying
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • teaching
  • volunteering
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I support local bands from Munich such as Impala Ray or Moop Mama!
I'm really not picky and enjoy all kinds of music.. as there is so much good stuff out there I have never heard of before!

Books I've read and re-read in the past months:
Momo by Michael Ende
10% Happier by Dan Harris
On the Road by Jack Kerouac
The Joy of Living by Yongey Mingyur Rinproche

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meditating at a beach of Zanziba

Teach, Learn, Share

Next to my teaching job, I've been volunteering at a refugee camp here in Munich.
I have recently started my own project.
At least once a week I organise trips for young refugees. Join me on a trip to the zoo? :)
I want to give those kids time and space to forget about their troubles and fears, even if it is only for a couple of hours. The project found many supporters and I can proudly announce that it is funded until the end of the year. YEAY!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can show you the wonderful city life of Munich but more memorable would be trips to the mountains. Hiking, enjoying nature..
I'm not much into partying anymore, although I can be easily be convinced if the moment is right.

Munich/ Bavaria is well known for it's beer. Are you ready for some beer-tasting? I will make you a proper original Weisswurst-Frühstück with Weissbier.

My boyfriend and I have been living in this small but very lovely apartement next to the river "Isar" for 3 years now. Visit us in the summer and you'll experience outside parties or chilled evenings with music and BBQ at the river.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Denmark, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanessa’s full profile. It’s free!