Varvara Arsenyeva's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Varvara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in French, Russian; learning English, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • teaching French
  • graduated from University at 2005
  • From Novosibirsk
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

wandering and looking what comes next

ABOUT ME

I was born and grew up in Novosibirsk. In University I studied linguistics and literature and now I'm a French teacher. I really like doing it and I enjoy to make my students explore a new culture. I like studying foreign languages myself. I study German for a while and looking forward to study Spanish and Swedish.

I'm a good and friendly person who likes to communicate and discover new things. I always tell myself: "There are so many amazing places all over the world. Go and look for it!" I'm curious about life and like to talk to people, but I can be quite shy with those one I don't know well.

I can't live without two things: music and travelling. And I like travelling just to go to some concerts. I'm not particulary found of travelling alone, even though I do it often. I like company and to share my impressions and feelings with other people. When I'm in a new city, I like just walking along the streets without any particular purpose from morning till night, looking and talking to somebody. This is an ideal day for me.

I love nature and used to trekking in the mountains (Altay, Terskey, Kichik-Alay...). It's a very special experience. There is something you couldn't find anywhere else.

PHILOSOPHY

Why not?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm a beginner in couchsurfing and have never travelled this way, but I'm looking forward to do it.

Interests

Music
Travelling
Foreign languages
Communication
Arts
Theater
Mountains
Treks

I don't really like night clubs, sorry.

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • theater
  • concerts
  • walking
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • music
  • teaching
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love different kind of music, but mostly rock, indi-rock, indi-pop, chanson française, many French and British artists and bands. My favourites are: -M-, Indochine, Benabar, Thomas Fersen, Benjamin Biolay, Muse, Leonard Cohen, Belle & Sebastian, Renaud, Renan Luce, Jacques Brel, Serge Gainsbourg, Francis Cabrel, Grégoire, Mika, Noir Désir, Love of Lesbian, Jens Lekman, Blur, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Foo Fighters, Nick Cave... and so on.

Movies: I like quite a strange movies, European cinema, independent cinema. But I watch also many TV series. I like sci-fi series (Babylon 5, Doctor Who), crime series and thrillers (Forbrydelsen, The Killing, Bron/Broen, Case Histories, Top of the Lake, Jonathan Creek, Life on Mars, State of Play...), period dramas (based on Jane Osteen novels and others). The list goes on.

Books: I read lots of books and it's very difficult to choose a particular one. Among my favourite writers are Knut Hamsun, Mikhail Bulgakov, Boris Vian and Vladimir Nabokov.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen a live concert of Leonard Cohen. It was magnificent. Something I will never forget.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach languages I know and I'm always looking to learn new things myself.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Varvara’s full profile. It’s free!