Viviane DeBros's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Viviane’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • mountaineering guide
  • MBA
  • From Boston
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy life to its fullest

ABOUT ME

I moved to Seattle in March 2012. I work as a mountaineering guide, which keeps me pretty busy all summer long. Unfortunately, that's when most people are out travelling. Hopefully there are people looking to hang out in fall, winter, or spring. I don't know Seattle very well yet, so I'd be happy to explore some cool places with you!

PHILOSOPHY

I'm a treehugger. I believe that the small things are the things that make a difference.

I'm an optimist. I like to look on the bright side of things and give people the benefit of the doubt. It makes the ugly parts of life bearable. I don't get along well with cynics.

I value honesty and ethics. Everyone can tell when I lie, anyway, so why bother trying?

I believe in the mantra, "Live and let live." Everyone should enjoy life the way they choose to enjoy it as long as they are bothering anyone else.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm new! But several friends and roommates have had a great experience. I'm eager to meet new people, avoid staying in soulless motel rooms, and someday pay it forward when I'm settled and have a place of my own.

Interests

Outdoors: mountaineering, rock climbing, ice climbing, hiking, backpacking, running

Needle crafts: knitting (ask me to teach you!), crocheting, needlepoint, sewing/quilting

Reading: Bill Bryson, James Herriot, and anything else that keeps me riveted and laughing out loud

Writing: journalling, keeping a blog about my road trip

I also have lots of interests that I hope to pursue once I'm settled:
-Being "green": I believe that small changes make a big difference, and try to encourage my friends to incorporate changes into their lives that they find acceptable. I bike commute when I can, cook from scratch, and would someday like to have a vegetable garden and some backyard chickens. If you have chickens, I'll be ecstatic!

-Being a foster/adoptive parent: I want to get kids out of the foster system and into a safe and fun home. Why have my own kids when there are already so many that need a family? Right now I mentor a teenage foster child through Big Brothers Big Sisters. You'll probably hear me talk about my little sister a lot, cuz she rocks.

  • chickens
  • writing
  • ethics
  • cooking
  • running
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • knitting
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • tourism

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived out of my car for a year while I travelled the US alone and climbed at every major climbing destination I could get to.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Chile, France, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Viviane’s full profile. It’s free!