Odin Hørthe Omdal's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Odin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 35 References 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning Danish, Esperanto, Swedish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Helping make web browsers in Opera Software
  • University
  • From Stavanger
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Smile to the wold ... :-)

ABOUT ME

Before I worked from home, but now I work in Opera Software 100%. So quite the busy guy. Except on weekends, where I can relax or do stuff. :]

I live with my girlfriend Helene. We are both vegetarians. I don't drink alcohol, so don't bring me wine - bring some for yourself, and maybe a good non-alcoholic beer for me ;-)

I love doing new things, and fixing problems. Like being stranded somewhere and then having to get home.

PHILOSOPHY

If you're happy, you'll make others happy. If they are happy, they'll make you happy. Smile to the world etc... ;-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hosted a lot when I was in Bergen, that was very fun. I don't do that much in Oslo anymore, I don't love the city as much (sry :P) and I'm always so busy here. I surfed in the US, it was grrreat!

I usually reply to CouchRequests within the next day. Unless I get them when my phone is in a bad mood.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My parents have hosted since I was a child. I always welcomed having travelers coming to our house, it was very nice.

Interests

Traveling / new experiences / meeting new people like most of CS community ;-)

GNU/Linux, free software
The web (distributed social software, GNU Social/StatusNet/Diaspora etc.)
Photography
Filmmaking <3
Design :D
Theatre (plays)
Sailing (happy amateur crew member)
DIY
Technology
Sustainable living

  • design
  • photography
  • film making
  • diy
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • drinking
  • technology
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • opera
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • bungee jumping
  • software
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Oh, I've looked at all the lists here. And really, there is so many and much of all of it that it's quite impossible to list it.

Ohwell, I might say that I listen to all genres of music - I don't discriminate. I listen to sounds I find pleasing. That includes Black metal and trance (enemies, for some strange reason), but also list pop, rock'n'roll, classical music, hard rock, dance, guitar girls and boys and well, everything.

Yes, that also includes opera and country, which most people who "like everything" tend to actively subtract from their lists. ;-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sky diving.
Bungee jumping, unrealistically cool.
Played the main character in 40-or-so showings of «Brødrene Løvehjarta» on Stavangers theatre Rogaland Theatre :D Well, long time ago, but it was amazingly cool. Theatre generally is.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well. HTML/CSS (websites, in easy words), Python, vector drawing, photography or anything else I know much about :P

I'd love to learn loads of stuff, like dancing, diving, cooking, cleaning up afterwards (:P), hitchhiking, etc etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Odin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups