Vojto and Aja Baláž's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vojto and Aja’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Slovak; learning German, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • university teacher / researcher
  • MSC. of zoology and Ph.D. in wildlife diseases
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CS seems to be changing so we moved also to BeWelcome https://www.bewelcome.org/members/Vojto-and-Aja and Trustroots https://www.trustroots.org/profile/vojto-and-aja and hope to host people as soon as Covid is over.
As we spend most of the time together (and have no plans in changing it), we decided to use single CS profile that originaly set up Vojto.
Vojto: I was an active scout untill I went to Uni, but there was less and less time later. Spending time in "wild"; fishing, hiking, biking, climbing are all my hobbies, that I that I used to do, do or pland to do again. I am bit of biology nerd, interested in nature and animals from the smallest to giants. Working at university is my dream that came true.
I am human-optimist, believing people are good in nature and deserve second chances and no prejudices. I am glad to get a chance to help when it is needed and enjoy company of people I get to meet and to know.
Aja: When I was 8 I starded horse-riding and it is still my biggest hobby - we have 3 horses at home. I met with Vojto at the uni (we were classmates) and we were doing a lot together - climbing, hitchhiking and travelling. Now we have 3 kids, so we had to settle down a bit.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
We gladly host coutchsurfers as we like to meet new people and share their travelling experience. So far we have been mostly hosting, we occasionally try it the other way round.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
It started when I (Vojto) took some hitchihinking couchsurfers and got interested in the idea. We have been hosting people ever since.

Interests

Vojto: many of my interests are somehow linked to my obsession with zoology and biological sciences in general, e.g. fishing, reading, horse riding, hiking and hitchhiking ... Then I can add quality alcohol consumption (we make some of our own too :D), relapses in 90s computer gaming ... But of course my main interests are lately the 3 kids and my wonderful wife.

Aja: I´m a zoologist too. My other hobbies are horse-riding, hiking and reading, I also like crosswords and singing. And lately I started playing amateur theatre and even directing plays :)

  • animals
  • books
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • biology
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • horse riding
  • maps

Music, Movies, and Books

Vojto: J.R.R. Tolkien, getting lost in the realms of his books quite often. Other books I liked we the "Night watch" collection, Witcher, City of Stairs... I have been reading mostly scentific literature in the last xx years :(
In recent years I got hooked up on Stjepan Šejić´s comicbooks, especially Death Vigil, Ravine... Vaughan´s Saga...and webcomics Erfworld, Order of the stick, Piled Higher and Deeper, Cyanide and Happiness...
Music: rock, metal, accepting most of music gendres. The tops I like Sabaton, Judas Priest, Rainbow.
Movies: almost all kinds of, if I got time (maybe romances not being my mug of beer)... sometimes I like to have a laugh on stuff that was probably meant seriously (like many action movies). Matrix, Life is beautiful, American beauty, One flew over cocoo' s nest, Terminator ... Game of thrones, Vikings, Stranger things, the Witcher. (Yes we have Netflix :)
Aja: I share the taste of books and music with Vojto, but we really differ in movies - my favourite genre is action/fun movies like The Expendables and I also like movies based on comic books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Vojto: "got married, got children and bought a house and lived happily ever after" :) but before that? hitchiked the coast of Turkey, spent 5 weeks camping in Venezuella, fly-fished in New Mexico, caught vipers on "snake island" and fell a tree with a hatchet. And apparently amazingly failed learning counting to one :)
Aja: rode pony races, reached 4600 m mountain, got engaged on the top of Roraima table mountain and actually married Vojto :)
and we cosplayed Joker/Harley at a metal festival (and got injured in mosh-pits, as every year).

Teach, Learn, Share

Vojto: I have been teaching at university the last 10+ years, so just ask me biological questions and you may get an answer longer than you hoped for:)
I will very gladly get a chance to use some bits of languages I don´t use too often: spanish, german and practicing even my small bit of turkish, croatian. Learning bits of other tongues will make me happy as well.
Share my travelling, hiking and hitch-hiking experience, the room and the stuff.
Aja: Apart from what Vojto wrote I can take you horse-riding when you visit us and cook you a nice dinner.
(well I can cook too :) Vojto)

What I Can Share with Hosts

We have a separate 3bed-room for visitors at our house and some matresses, couch in living room and a large garden. We gladly share the contents of the cellar, the bar, the fridge, the products of the garden and of course the wifi :) ... we could also share some animal tending, gardening and other work duties :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Slovakia

Join Couchsurfing to see Vojto and Aja’s full profile.