Van TRUONG's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Van’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 394 References 198 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Lithuanian, Russian, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • A simple corporate guy who wish he could be a SUPER HERO ...
  • Yes, i guess i have a minimum of eduction (well...i hope so)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in France since i was 3 years old, and as a french citizen, i love "la cuisine", the wines & cheeses. I'm defintely a foodie and have a passion for cooking.
Recently, i've decided to move out (a bit) from my confort zone.
I quit my beloved hometown, my friends, my job and moved to the south of France to rebuild a new life with my beloved.
I live now in a little town on the seaside : Antibes is 15 min from Nice & 10 min from Cannes
As i am newcomer in this part of France, i'll be a very bad guide to show you around.

After +10 years, being an active CS member, i'm also getting old. Therefore I'm not anymore a party boy i used to be. Nowadays, I would rather enjoy quiet conversations while drinking wine and cooking.

My personnality ? (Quite hard question) ; I'm a super optimistic, i want to see the life on its bright side. I'm not that much talkative, but i love the people who are.

The reason why i love so much to host travelers and to meet new people is probably because spent a period of my 18-19's backpacking alone all around europe. Nowadays, it's complicate for me to do it again, but the call of the road still whistles in my mind...

So if you think i'm your type of person and that we may get along pretty well, let contact me. It's always a great pleasure to meet a new fellow travelers.
"Come as a stranger & leave as a friend" is a good mojo...Let's try to make it happens ;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been a volunteer for CS for years now and i still try to be active and helpful as much as i can for the community (offering the hospitality, organizing events, sharing my eCSperiences, ect...).
I used to be very active when i lived in Lyon, France.
In my case, now the challenge is to not be burned out by such a long time being an active member and to still enjoy hosting and surfing as if it was the first time i do it...Wherever i am.


...I LIKE...
I like Snowboarding, i like to play soccer with my friends on a sunny sunday, i like to cook (very much...very!), i like to have people for dinner at home, i like to share a good wine, i like doing BBQ, i like my friends, i like my dog, i like spending rainy week ends doing absolutely nothing except watching movies.

...I DON'T LIKE...
I don't like yellow candies (i know it's stupid, but i do), i don't like the snakes (they freak me out), i don't like to feel alone, i don't like the pessimistic attitudes and those who give lessons on everything (they should live & let live)

  • animals
  • dogs
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • bbq
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • partying
  • drinking
  • politics
  • movies
  • music
  • guitar
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • soccer
  • languages
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC : Coldplay (wich is for me the best band in the world) - Mumford & sons - Ben Harper - Jamie Cullum - The Red Hot Chili Pepper - Damien Rice - Bon Iver - Jack Johnson (the coolest guy in the world) - snow patrol - The Smashing Pumkins - Franck Sinatra - Bob Dylan - Joan Baez...ect.
In fact i like to listen a lot of things (it just depends on my mood), except metal.

BOOKS : I have to admit that don't read as much as i would like to (lack of time) but here are some books & authors i like : Barjavel, Bernard Weber, JRR Tolkien
I also like the classic french authors : Montesquieu (L'esprit des lois), Diderot, Paul Eluard,...

MOVIES : too many to tell...(it depends on my mood)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

To live my life fully is already for me an amazing thing done....and to do every day

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to cook and can teach you or share with you a few receips i know. I love wines & cheeses as well
I'm aslo interested in vegan & vegetarian food so if you have receipes to teach to me, i'll appreciate a lot.
I can also stand some long conversations about financial analysis & global politics, but as it's what i do everyday at work i would rather prefer talking about music, sports, food, wines & beers and other funny stories ;)

I'd like to learn how to play guitar (i do but my level is crap...i'm still trying to learn but my lazyness is stronger than me)
I also like to learn new languages. Actually i'm on the lithuanian and the russian. So if you speak one of those languages, i'll promise you a hilarous time in listening me pronouncing these tongues.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If being a guest, i can't refrain to express my gratefullness in trying to help as much as i can my hosts.
I'm not bad in cooking and i love it (french food mostly...and a bit of asian sometime)
I'm tidy, organized and not looking for a high confort when i couchsurf.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Benin, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mauritius, Morocco, Myanmar, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Réunion, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    109 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Van’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups