Logo orange

Jon Combs

Beaufort, SC, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Fisheries Biologist
  • B.S. and Grad Diploma
  • From Virginia, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live life..........

ABOUT ME

I am a biologist when I am too poor to travel. I work aboard commercial fishing vessels monitoring catch and incidental takes of protected and endangered species. My work can take me to sea for long periods of time and I have worked out of Dutch Harbor/Alaska, Honolulu, the southeast US, and Canada.

PHILOSOPHY

I haven't found the answers yet and I keep finding new questions.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participate by hosting whenever possible(not often enough), hopefully surfing when I get some time off, and telling people about it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I bounce around a lot so I have slept on a lot of couches. As far as the CS world goes i am just getting started.

Interests

The ocean and all its contents. The natural world. People, places, customs, ideas.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies-I will watch anything while at sea.

Music-Varied...some faves-Hilltop Hoods, Peter Mayer, Missy Higgins, The Darkness, Jimmy Buffett, Xavier Rudd.....

Books-Into Thin Air, The Chronicles of Narnia, anything by Peter Hathaway Capstick, Sturat Woods' Stone Barrington series.........

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I went on a catholic(even though im not a catholic) pilgrimmage, walking 500 miles across Spain from France to Santiago de Compestella and then to the ocean.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know how to juggle but only balls(still working on knives, pins, torches etc...)

I would love to learn more languages, a musical instrument, and how to sail properly.

Countries I've Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada, France, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Kiribati, Mexico, Morocco, Puerto Rico, South Korea, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile