Warren Lim's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Warren’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 64 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Financial Sector
  • Cornell University and Indiana University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I signed up for CS in 2009 when I took a year off to backpack and had an amazing experience. I love adventures, exploring, meeting people from diverse background and learning about new cultures and ideas.

I used to work in the financial sector but moved to the real estate sector recently. My majors back in college and grad school were finance and engineering.

I also enjoy the outdoors and love sports such as soccer, running and biking. I've run a few marathons and did an Ironman distance triathlon recently so that kept me occupied. I've been to around 90 countries and hope to keep going when opportunity arises.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think everyone is like a book with their own story and Couchsurfing just delivers the book to my front door.


I really like backpacking trips and visiting non-touristy places. I love taking public transportation, checking out grocery stores, hole-in-the-wall, random spots and learning about local businesses/infrastructure. The subject of urban planning sounds interesting to me and that's one reason why cities attract me.
Other things I like are bookstores, exploring, running around Central Park and reading, meeting interesting people..restaurants, bars/clubs, live music, comedy/improv..

I took a year off to travel recently and below is my round the world travel blog =)

  • triathlon
  • running
  • reading
  • travel
  • adventure
  • biking
  • learning new things
  • learning

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - Mostly non-fictions, Economist, NY Times, Happy City
Music - Pop, Rock, Jazz, Matchbox Twenty, Counting Crows...
Movies - Comedy and documentary

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-I did the Ironman recently, swam 2.4 miles, biked 112 miles and ran 26 miles
-I took some time off to travel last year.
This is the route map of my 10months 100000km backpacking trip to 43 countries and 150 cities. Most of the border crossing was done overland.

Some of the random things I remember in my trip
-Hitchhiked a few trucks up in the freezing Irkeshtam mountains across the border from Kyrgyzstan to Western China. Slept in the truck and almost froze to death.
-Was fed and hosted by a Kurdish family in Iraq whom I met in a shared cab.
-Escorted out at gunpoint from my room at the border town of Iraq, Iran, thought I was going to be shot.
-Fought with 2 thieves in China.
-Spent just $140 in 11 days in Iran because I was low on cash and credit cards don't work in Iran.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you something about endurance sports, finance, investments and budget travel.
I would like to learn Spanish, cooking... anything really

Sorry if I don't reply sooner because I am swamped with messages and I've been super busy recently.. I'll be glad to meet up for a drink or show you around if I can't host.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Share my travel stories, ideas..
Bonus points if you have the word woot in your message

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Warren’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups