Wesley Lai

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wesley’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese, Japanese, Tagalog
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Sushi chef, kitchen cook
  • currently university undergraduate
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I was born and raised in beautiful Vancouver British Columbia. Since high school, I've attended post-secondary for about two years here and I am currently still an undergraduate in Economics. In 2011, I had a great experience working at Disneyworld in Florida for about four months as part of a college program and I met many awesome people from all around the world. Since then, I've really developed an interest in travelling as I had an opportunity to meet up many of those friends I met from the program and learn about their cultures. I have traveled to many different parts of Asia and I intend to move to Taiwan in the near future to find a English teaching job.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think Couchsurfing is a fantastic idea as it has perks for both the host and the guest. As a host, it feels good to show new visitors around the beautiful city of Vancouver and meet people from different cultures. And as a guest, I really hope to be as grateful as possible to the host and share my experiences and culture knowledge with them. Even if I can't successfully find a place to stay, CC is still a great community to meet up with other travelers and locals!


I like to play many sports including basketball, tennis, soccer, etc. Also I like leisure activities such as playing pool/snooker, karaoke, mah-jongg, bowling, drinking socially and much more. I also like to watch many different Asian cinema movies and tv shows. I always like to try new things, and exploring new places, making new friends.

Music, Movies, and Books

Laputa: Castle in the Sky, The Departed, Infernal Affairs, The Matrix, Shaolin Soccer, Toy Story, Crows, Battle Royale, Memories of Murder, Inception, The Hangover, Princess Mononoke, The man from nowhere, Great Teacher Onizuka, Gokusen, The Dark Knight, Pulp Fiction, My amnesia girl, Ip man, Terminator 2, Star Wars.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will no doubt show my gratitude and buy the host a good gift first of all! But most importantly, I wish to be a respectful and fun companion to my host. I'd be more than happy to help my host with small favors such as random house chores to buying some drinks and beer as a token of appreciation. Also for hosts that are interested in improving their English skill, I'll be more than happy to provide some free informal lessons or simply just talking for more practice!

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Hong Kong, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Wesley’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups