Marlon Wijeyasinghe's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English, Sinhala, Sinhalese; learning Japanese, Portuguese
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • PhD Student
  • Postgraduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an outgoing introvert who prefers to have deep conversations rather than small talk. Sometimes I can be quiet.
I have a huge love for animals, and I also like nature, science, photography, board games, long walks, documentaries, people-watching. I am somewhat eccentric! :D
I am a third culture kid who grew up in London but my origins are in Sri Lanka. I am an atheist with a Buddhist background.

A note for potential hosts/surfers: I eat a pescatarian diet (for personal, non-religious reasons). However I have no objection to those who eat anything else.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

On my previous travels, the amazing people who I met were the best part of the experience. I joined this platform hoping that it will give me the opportunity to meet more such people!
When I visited other cities, locals helped me and ensured that I have a pleasant and comfortable experience, so I would love to pay it forward by guiding those who visit my city!
I don't have my own place so it is difficult for me to host :(. Hence why my availability is set to maybe. However, on occasions which I end up being home alone, I could accept guests. During those periods, I will indicate on my profile if I am definitely available to host by changing my availability to "Accepting Guests".

Interests

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • animal welfare
  • dining
  • drinking
  • politics
  • technology
  • board games
  • reading
  • eating out
  • badminton
  • engineering
  • philosophy
  • science
  • nature
  • parties
  • programming
  • deep conversations
  • card games
  • eurogames

Music, Movies, and Books

I can enjoy most types of music, such as pop, classical, rock, dance, hiphop and EDM. I don't have a favourite singer or band.
I generally prefer sci-fi, thriller, adventure, action, drama movies, but I will like any movie with an interesting plot.
I prefer to read non-fiction such as science, politics, geography and history.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteered at a sanctuary for stray animals that houses over 800 dogs and 70 cats. Made some great friends during that experience, some of whom had 2 legs and others who had 4 legs! :P

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share local knowledge of London and I can show you around the city!
Though I have lived here for most of my life, I am still discovering new things in this city and this country. Let's team up and explore together!
I am up for playing some board games.
I can also help people out with English and I am interested in language exchange.
I would like to share deep conversations about our stories, life experience, perspectives, philosophy, hopes, dreams, insecurities and fears. It can be as simple or as complicated as you want.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my stories, experiences and philosophy. Perhaps my unconventional viewpoints too :P
I'm up for going out for food and drink!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brazil, China, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups