William Francis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see William’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Educator
  • Lewis and Clark College '08
  • From Pacific Northwest, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I like good conversation, to cook/eat new things, go backpacking, ride bikes, read books, and play basketball. I enjoy meeting new people that challenge the way I think; there is so much to learn in the world and I am thankful for the opportunity to travel from time to time.

Me gusta una buena platica, cocinar y COMER cosas nuevas, hacer backpacking y caminatas, leer libros y jugar basketball. Me gusta conocer a la gente que piensa diferente de mi y que pueden desafiar mi punta de vista; hay tanto por conocer en este mundo y me siento muy afortunado tener la oportunidad viajar y conocer otros lados.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I try to avoid the hotels/ hostels/ tourist areas in general when traveling. I like to see places through the eyes of local, everyday-type people.

Trato de evadir los hoteles/ hostales/ areas turísticos. Me gusta ver lugares por los ojos de la gente humilde y local.

Interests

Cooking and food tend to be my main focus whether at home or traveling. I really enjoy trying typical foods and learning about them as well.

Cocinar y la comida en general es mi enfoque principal en mi tierra igual por otros lados. Me gusta mucho probar comidas típicas y aprender sobre ellas también.

  • flamenco
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • running
  • walking
  • gardening
  • anime
  • backpacking
  • basketball
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • reading books
  • social justice
  • bikes
  • street food
  • people watching
  • transportation
  • cider
  • botany
  • speaking spanish
  • literacy
  • luthiery

Music, Movies, and Books

Mario Vargas Llosa, John Steinbeck, Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Music: flamenco, rap, R&B, jazz, acoustic, indie, math rock, classical, samba, some pop music, salsa, música llanera, and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting. Anime: Full Metal Alchemist, Steins;Gate, Hunter x Hunter

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived in Bogotá, Colombia for almost three years (2010 - 2013), teaching English and doing a bunch of hiking with a group called Los Patas Bravas (Angry Feet? haha) in Cundimarca on the weekends. I rode my bike as transportation all over the city and survived to tell the story.

Vivi en Bogota, Colombia casi tres anos, ensenando ingles y caminando con un grupo que se llamo Los Patas Bravas, andando por Cundinamarca los fines de semana. Monté mucha bici y sobreviví!

Teach, Learn, Share

Local street food above all. Of course interesting things to do, places I can walk/ take mass transit to, but really it's about food and good conversation.

Comida callejera es mi favorita. Por supuesto, me gusta hacer cosas interesantes y fuera de lo normal, ir a lugares a pie, pero sobre todo comer bien y tener buena conversación.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Flamenco, bike-related stuff including some basic maintenance and how to ride safely in the city, basketball, food and cooking (but I don't claim to be a great cook or anything), backpacking, gardening/ botany. I'm always interested in learning about other people's passions, so please share them with me.

I'm an English teacher so I can also help with English if someone is interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see William’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups