Willion Maas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Willion’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • teacher
  • Bachelor's degree in commerce and hopefully next year in ...
  • From Amsterdam
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoying life with balance between money (€€€) and freedom.

ABOUT ME

I'm an outgoing and extravert guy: we would always have something to talk about. I'm interested in new people and cultures. I'm a good listener and creative when it comes to making out of the box decisions. I'm open and honest. Besides all these positive characteristics I have a lot of self insight...

I'm a lazy guy who's not eager to help with the cooking OR the dishes. I'd rather relax at the bar with a beer, than go for a bicycle ride. I really don't like walking in general (not around big cities, nor hiking). I hate sports in all its aspects (doing, watching and talking about).

PHILOSOPHY

Most people are living in a ratrace and in the end don't even know what happened. I'd rather enjoy every day of my life being poor (without big house, big car, big status, big bags of clothes and big creditcard debt), then be unhappy with even more material stuff.

In this way less is more, with one exception: knowledge.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I attended a CS meeting in Rotterdam on the 10th of July. There I met some very nice people. I thought that all CS's would be hippies, but now I'm convinced that most of them are really nice people!

Interests

During working hours I'm a teacher. My students all quit their studies, but are obliged by our government to go to school. In 13 weeks it's up to me and my colleagues to get these students motivated again and ready to start a new education or work.

As a teacher I have 12 weeks a year to spent on vacation! During these weeks I love to ride one of my motorcycles to visit new places and meet new people. I avoid tourist traps and try to stay in smaller cities or villages at local B&B's. I always ask the host to show us the local bars, restaurants and museums. The museums I like to visit range from the Sint Bernard museum in Swiss to the local Schnapps museum in south Germany.

  • culture
  • education
  • cooking
  • beer
  • walking
  • motorcycles
  • clothing
  • hiking
  • sports
  • boxing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

I read many fora about diverse subjects. I love to watch series and occasionally a movie. I prefer comedy and animated movies. During this I like potato chips, cheese and snackies :)

favourite actor: Kevin Spacey.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Last summer I went on holiday for 4 weeks semi off the road riding through Corsica and Sardenia. In the south of Sardegna we made a 60km offroad trip on a mountain and I found a skull beside the road. At that moment it felt like I was alone on the planet together with my wife.

During this trip we stayed at a B&B of a local italian family who invited us to have dinner with them. The three generations of women living in the home started an argument about Berlusconi. It was a lively debate in a way only italian women can have! We had the feeling of being in the middle of the italian culture.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm learning from other people every day. The differences between me and them are opportunities to learn. I'm interested in social differences, cultures, economy and outstanding, technical factories.

When I go on holiday I would love to visit a local factory. If you're working at an interesting factory, I would love a tour. For example I visited breweries, industrial bakeries, a motorcycle factory, etc. Everything with an advanced mechanical proces is interesting.

Join Couchsurfing to see Willion’s full profile. It’s free!