Martin Reurings's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 11 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • Unspecified age, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Web-developer
  • A little bit of school and a whole lot of Google
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Setting foot on the last two continents! South-america and Antarctica, here I come!

ABOUT ME

Hmm, part-time backpacker, part-time web-junky. I know too much about computers to be ignorant on any topic
concerning them, just not knowledgable enough to be a real expert except on html, javascript and CSS.
I may look like a heavy-metal addict but I'm just a gentle guy who plays the trumpet in a big-band as my last employer was shocked to discover. So don't be fooled by the long dark-blond hair and goaty (is that spelled right?) I might surprise you yet!

PHILOSOPHY

I am who I choose to be.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Well, I just 'heard' of this comunity half an hour ago and I'm set to leave for a two year trip 'round Australia / New Zealand so, for now, I'll be hoping to get to know some couches over there and get some of them on the map of cool places to surf!
When I get back home and get me a couch to surf on I hope to accomodate some fellow backpackers so they may see something of The Netherlands other than Amsterdam!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hmmm, the one at the top of the list was during my first trip in Australia.
I had bought a car in Sydney and crossed over the blue mountains and headed west. After a couple hundred kilometers my car had started to sound somewhat funny.
Upon entering a certain non-descript town and reaching the local gas-station I inquired about the noise in my engine "You got any idea what's wrong with my car, the engine's making this 'clicking' sound?"
The guy running the place quickly explains that the engine must be out of oil, yes, out, not low on, out of... And after pooring the 4 liters I have with me in it mentions that we had best let her cool down and try again in the morning.
Now, as the fruit-picking season has just started all hotels are packed. And since his son has come home for a short vacations he cannot offer his spare bedroom. So, he takes me to the local club where he 'introduces' me so that I may buy a cheap dinner and after a nice evening lends me the use of a spare matress for sleeping in the back of my Ford Falcon XD (station-wagon). And on top of that he hands me the keys to the gas-station so that I may make use of the toilets inside!
Well, I'm eternally gratefull for such amazing hospitallity to this verry day, I still wonder how he dared trust me like that!

Interests

I love traveling, martial-arts, music (playing and listening), reading, movies, ballroom dancing and spending time with some friends playing games (cards, table-top roleplaying, boardgames, etc). Oh and did I mention scuba-diving? I love scuba-diving!
And dragons, anything concerning dragons, even the worst movies like disneys Dragonslayer or even worse, Reign of Fire...

  • arts
  • dancing
  • ballroom dancing
  • running
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • trumpet
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: U2, Jazz (almost anything) and anything that takes my fancy except for house.
Movies: The Three Musketeers (1993), Pirates of the Caribbean, Treasure Island, Mulan, Lilo & Stitch
Books: Elvenbane, Thief's world series, Dead witch walking and a whole bookcase more :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I travelled by train from Amsterdam to Bejing with my best friend and travelbuddy Sandra.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmm, I may teach people about web-standards. Html as a semantic language that any and all may read and understand. With CSS as a language to give this information style and form. And eventually JavaScript to add behaviour where the defaults of a browser no longer suffice.
I would like to learn Chinese and Spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, China, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Ireland, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Russian Federation, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile. It’s free!