Logo orange

Christian's Groups

Christian Wink

Seoul, Seoul, South Korea

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Dutch, Korean
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • English teacher, I have been living ...
  • BA Socio-Informatics at Stellenbosch...
  • From Cape Town, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to see as much of the world as I can while I'm still relatively young.

ABOUT ME

I am an open-minded person, always in a good mood, trying to learn as much about the world as I can. I grew up and graduated in South Africa, spent an indecisive year or two doing on-line teaching and then made the move to South Korea. I was there for 5 years and am now traveling my way home through Western Europe and England.

I am at my absolute happiest when I am traveling and I find it very difficult to complain about anything while being on the road. My curiosity forces me to move a bit faster than most backpackers, which means I tend to see a greater number of places but ultimately get to know fewer people, which I sometimes regret. Couchsurfing will hopefully be a way for me to create new friendships in new places without staying there for weeks.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that we are, to a large extent, the result of all the external influences in our lives - our culture, race, religion, language, family and peers. The only way to truly discover who you are is to remove yourself from these comfort zones. Traveling, especially solo-traveling, in places vastly different from where you grew up, allows you to notice which parts of your character are inherent to who you are and which parts are simply the result of these external forces. This is the main reason I left South Africa by myself to live in South Korea. It is why I want to keep traveling and meeting people from different parts of the world.

It's hard to describe yourself in a little box. I was very influenced by the writings of Eckhart Tolle, but as I approached the age of 30 I find myself becoming slightly more cynical as I get older and less impressed by all things mystical. Still I remain tolerant and curious of everything.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I am homeless and backpacking Western Europe.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was hosted by a female couchsurfer in Beijing for a few days in August 2011 and hosted a woman from Poland in 2013 and had excellent experiences each time. I did not receive many requests due to the tiny size and location of my apartment in Korea, unfortunately.

Interests

Traveling.
Music!
Playing drums.
Politics.
Religion.
Philosophy.
Sport (cricket)

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Into The Wild
Books: Eckhart Tolle
Music:
When I am drinking - drum & bass, breakbeats, psytrance.
On my iPod - Alternative rock.
When relaxing - Ambient, Chill-out

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The highlight of my life so far was a trip I did in 2010 that started with 5 countries in South-East Asia and ended at the FIFA World Cup in my native South Africa.
Three months in India was also very memorable.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been an English teacher for a couple of years, teaching kids in middle and high school, and also conversation classes and tutoring to advanced adults. If you visit my home I can also give a beginner drum lesson.

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

South Africa, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile