John  Joubert's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 28 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Student, Carpenter
  • B.A. Film, Psychology, Business, Art Therapy, Leadership,...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! So I love hosting but my place is tiny and I can't host more than 2 people and not for more than 2 nights. I'm happy to meet for coffee if you have no or very few references, and provide a reference and make a decision about hosting based on that. Please read the accommodation part to make sure it suits before sending me a request.
Sorry hope I don't sound off-putting here, but I've consistently been receiving requests for large groups for long stays from people without references.

My current mission:

I'm doing a masters in art therapy, so that's my major thing. Otherwise I'm a new migrant to Canada so I'm establishing myself here. I'm into creative writing, there's a few books I'm working on. I'm re-learning guitar, possibly getting into snowboarding... In the warmer season working on and riding my motorcycle is my big thing.

ABOUT ME
Well I'm a pretty chill guy that's over-worked from school at the moment. I'm progressive and liberal, into spirituality while being open minded enough not to reject other's religious beliefs. I'm kind of introverted but extroverted at the same time.
I really love working with my hands, working out. I love being on the road on my motorcycle and exploring unknown roads.
Otherwise, I love being in water. Surfing was a big thing for me back in South Africa and I miss it dearly. I swim pretty frequently.
I'm pretty creative and have worked on all kinds of interesting projects like burning man installations and festivals and art projects.

I really love imaginative magic realism or fantasy with mythic animist elements, such as the work of Miyazaki.

Here's my old CS blurb I wrote 10 years ago if you want an autobiography.

I am a citizen of the world born in Cape Town, South Africa.

I grew up working for my father (a man gifted and well known for a reverence for life) who was a Nature Conservation officer for Namibia (a desert and savannah land north of Southern Africa) and my childhood memories are filled with infinite amounts of time staring out the window of his car driving around in the wild for days, often 3 days travel from civilization at-least. Places like the Skeleton Coast or Kaokoland, listening to stretched tapes on empty battery powered walkmans tapping rhythms on the metal bits of the 4x4, searching for hidden alien bases underneath dunes and getting completely lost inside my head.

As I aged my passion in life grew into art. Hobbies allways included Photography and as I studied this in my youth this eventually let me grow towards tertiary Cinema studies.

One of the more powerful realizations and creeds in my life is one of reverence for nature especially in the light of future preservation.

I'm a bit of a renegade, but not enough to reject science, academia and capitalism. I do see these systems failing in our society and strive to improve ... what I can.

As I have travelled I have spent all my life exploring concepts, cultures and popularities, breaking through system of though one after another endlessly. Always learning and teaching, learning and teaching it never ends.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I FINALLY have my own place in Nelson, BC so I can offer a couch to the community, when my school deadlines aren't killing me. Which is most of the time unfortunately. I've surfed A-LOT and it's great to finally be able to offer a couch back.

It's a really small apartment - so I won't be offering a space too much seeing as it will be cramped with another person in here. But I will offer it at times.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I CS-surfed all over the world.

Interests

Psychology, Motorbikes, Sustainable living, Spirituality, Surfing, Festivals, Creative writing, learning languages, travelling, Healing, Wellness & alternative medicine, martial arts, art.

My GL1100 81 that I've turned into a naked bike...

  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • festivals
  • environment
  • coffee
  • movies
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • martial arts
  • business
  • languages
  • medicine
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie/TV - Every single move done by 'Hayao Miyazaki' blows me away
Series - I love the Firefly series, game of thrones, ADVENTURE TIME!, in treatment, Star Trek, etc :)
Books - Last book I read that I couldn't put down was 'Of Water and Spirit' by Patrice Malidoma Some, beautiful post-colonial autobiographic work.
Music - I have a pretty unique taste I think. Favorite current artists include Zero Cult, Solar Fields, Peter Gabriel, Tripswitch, Mogwai, ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Crossing the Atlantic on a 46ft Yacht
Kappadokia Turkey,
Playing at Bonnaroo in USA,
Going on a peace in the middle east mission,
Surfing missions
Out of body experiences
Travelling in general
Sculptures at Afrikaburn (our regional burning man event in South Africa)
Falling in love
Morning Coffee
Travelling in the wild in Africa
Was a yogi for 5 years
Learnt (and forgot) Kung Fu
Learnt to draw.
Learnt basic motorcycle mechanics

Teach, Learn, Share

Theres always something, ... if two energies meet theres something to share, its just about being aware of the subtleties and paying attention to each other...

Personally I LOVE learning new things!

And also I'm learning this phenomenological relational approach at school, so...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Couch. I don't know the area so I can't give great advice on what to do - you might know more than me!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Egypt, Germany, Israel, Jordan, Mexico, Namibia, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Namibia, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups