Logo orange

Georgia's Groups

Georgia Diamantopoulos

Voies, Peloponnisos Dytiki Ellada ke Ionio, Greece

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Georgia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 34 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Greek (modern); learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • growth
  • BA linguistics
  • From Detroit
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to share with others the beauty of this world as I see it

ABOUT ME

I have been so blessed to be influenced by two cultures my whole life. To me, to be aware of these influences is to always seek new experiences and environments which show me many different perceptions of the world, either through the eyes of other people, another culture, or discovering new views from within myself. Being able to take all these perceptions and look at them as a whole, as realizing the differences as merely variations of one common essence, is what I believe the key to understanding the complexity of this world is...and I think, the best way to ensure this to myself is to travel.

PHILOSOPHY

we'll save this for in person

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far with couch surfing I have... been able to experience a few cities through the eyes of locals, in a way I would have never been able to otherwise! It is also amazing to see the possibilities of traveling being redefined and how CS is allowing people to have more meaningful experiences in an unfamiliar place.

Interests

crafting, crocheting ~ lots of crocheting, beach combing, sea rocks, language, village life, yarn bombing, street art, accents, by-passing the superficial shit, normlessness due to being completely foreign to an environment, nomadic spirituality, cooking vegetarian, hooping, poi & flow arts, resourcefulness over convenience, snorkeling, dancing to some gr0oo0ovy music, pirate hide outs and mountain summits, old things and thrift stores, beauty in decay, hiking and nature walks, biking around town

Music, Movies & Books

I don't have much patience for television or movies; I haven't personally ever owned a tv at my place. I love leaving the stereo on loudly all day. My musical interests include~ reggae, dub, psydub, psytrance, psybient, trip hop, deep house, bluegrass, funk

I like to read, a lot, when I have the time and am not occupied by crocheting or other distractions. Books I can always go back to for some quick inspiration are Choelo's The Alchemist and Warrior of the light, Dychtwald's Body Mind, Margaret Adler's Heretic Heart, Kerouac's On the Road, Foer's Everything is Illuminated and more.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

backpacking/hitch hiking from Montana rainbow gathering to San Deigo, California

spent hours hiking through and sledding down the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes in northern Michigan. the sight of sand sprayed onto snow by the wind is one of the most simple, yet remarkable things i've seen

Teach, Learn, Share

I can talk to you about linguistics all day, also I have many different odd skills (see above) that I love to share with people that are open to it.

I am interested in learning anything you can teach me, particularly if it's of your passion/expertise!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Macedonia, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

Greece, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Georgia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile