Xabier Cid's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Xabier’s full profile.

Overview

  • 113 references 101 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Galician, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I am a webmaker working in tourism at the moment.
  • Linguistics + Management + Journalism + Sports
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I really enjoy doing couchsurfing: I've been doing this for many years, first in Stirling and now in Glasgow. I'd love to host you, and to share some time and conversation, but if you just need to have some place to stay and silence and calm, I am very happy with that plan too.
I try to answer every message, and I try to do it soon. My house is a #safeplace.

======
It's not easier to introduce myself after ten years of using CS than the first time I did (2008). Where to start? So I decided to edit the previous, more simple text.

I am a good guy, :) -->; Yes, I am still a good guy, although I can't remember why I wrote this.

I am also very quiet and shy, so I am very seldom in the mood for parties, drinks and so on. --> that's still true. No, I don't think I am shy anymore. If I ever was.

I am gay. That information was not in the previous profile, yet I have been gay for quite a while. I now include this information on my profile because, after reading some comments on Couchsurfing, I've found that some female travelers do not feel comfortable surfing male hosts. If this is your understandable feeling, you will be safe here.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to share. My main mission on Couchsurfing is to share. I came here for the sake of sharing and I stay here also for that reason.

Over these years I have meet fantastic people on Couchsurfing. People come and go, and they always leave a footprint. Deeper or shallower, both are perfect. It is how human beings are. Great. Even those who I barely remember, they have been part of this magical experience called couchsurfing.

However, due to a lack of time (explained below) I have never been a guest on CS. I've hosted only.

Interests

I like to travel, to read and to go bird-watching. That's still true, although my traveling machine stopped thirteen years ago, due to a lack of time. Most of my trips over all these years were from Scotland to Galicia and back, to visit my family and old friends, and to work there.

I could add to the list of things I like: cycling, walking, nature and, in general, everything happening outdoors. I am now a less intellectual guy and more an action man (moderate action man).

  • walking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • nature
  • lgbt
  • gayfriendly
  • birdwatching
  • lgbtq+

Music, Movies, and Books

I have no memory to keep favourite movies or books. I just keep forgetting them, which I think is not that bad as it sounds.
Music: I have my particular taste, but I am totally dispassionate about music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The truly amazing thing is still to come.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Xabier’s full profile.

My Groups