Julia Hoffmann

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Chinese, Portuguese, Swedish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Project manager for sustainable development
  • Master of Environment and Sustainability
  • From Dresden, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Making every day a bit better for everyone - with a smile and good music this seems to work out much easier!


You can easily recognize me: Smiling, dancing, jumping, running, singing (but just in my head), listening to others (I'm a better listener than talker, so people with sorrows or stories to tell are welcome :o), caring about the environment (as far as I can), living a vegan/veggie eco-friendly and animal-respective lifestyle.

Originally I'm from Germany, grew up in Dresden (Eastern Germany), then studied in Osnabrueck for 3 years, been to Chile for an exchange semester, which was great and marks the start of my interest in travelling, foreign cultures and sustainability. I also worked in China in the field of environmental protection before, did some internships on Corporate Social Responsibility, in order to find out who is creating bigger positive (!) change in the world: companies or NGOs... concluding that maybe none of them is the perfect solution. Now I am focusing on Social Entrepreneurship. Well, I'm eager to discuss with you about that!! :)))
From 2010 to 2012 I did a Masters in Environmental Studies and Sustainability at Lund University, Sweden. From 2012 to June 2014 I have been living and working in Cayenne, French Guiana (a French overseas department in South America), on sustainability projects, mostly on the financing aspects of renewable energies.

From July till December 2014 I traveled the North of South America - starting from French Guiana I passed through Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela and Colombia . Since that amazing travel I returned to Germany and started to live in Berlin since April 2015. I'm now working for a NGO here on climate change mitigation and the promotion of renewable energy technologies in so-called "developed countries" (I really hate that word!)


Be the change that you wanna see in the world!
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

Live to make yourself and others happy!

Live life as best as you can, but do it responsibly! Generations before us have left the planet in its current beauty, so we shall leave it to our future generations!

Non-violence to humans and animals!

Collaborative and sustainable consumption!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host and I surf - both with always positive experiences! :)


I hosted and couchsurfed several times so far and each time has been a very rewarding experience! I met so many lovely and interesting people to share ideas (e.g. on environmental sustainability), to discuss and also to learn about many new things (e.g. rare insects as pets at home). Couchsurfing has proven to me many times that it's worth it every time to open up yourself and take time to get to know people. In the end it's the people who make life so valuable! Thank you so much!!!


Coming from a very active family background, I really love being outside and be in motion! :)
In French Guiana I found my personal paradise (96% of the country is covered by rainforest, so there are loooots of opportunities to go hiking, canoing/kayaking or cycling! And I did a lot of that!!!
The best way to discover the country (where there are basically only 2 main roads connecting West to South, but no roads in the interior) is on one of the many rivers that flow through this beautiful place on earth! This is the best way to explore nature for me: in a silent and respectful way - while working out your arm muscles! ;)

SPORTS! I also do inline skating and play badminton regularly (I played in a club in French Guiana). I also like to do (beach) volleyball or ping-pong (the latter just haven't played for a loooong time :)

I've tried Aikido, a Japanese martial arts, for a while, but stopped due to knee problems.

MUSIC! I love to dance: Salsa, Bachata, Merengue, Zouk, Samba!

During this year's carneval in French Guiana I participated in a Brazilian drum group (associated to a Capoeira group): I can only recommend it: great music and rythm, amazing atmosphere and good work out for your arms!

TALKING & STORY-SHARING! I love to talk and listen to all kinds of interesting stuff: travelling experiences, sustainability issues, politics, development, justice, belief systems, literature and an ever increasing list of other things...

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all kinds of music that make me feel like dancing, cause that's what I really love: to jump around (someone called me a grasshopper before ;p) I love indie-rock and electro music at clubs.
At home I listen to world music, as I like to experience other cultures through their music!
I love latino music and dancing to salsa, bachata and merengue!
For some years I am now addicted to audiobooks, mostly novels which I missed to read during school time, but now enjoy to listen to, like Gulliver's Travels, Jeckil&Hyde,Dr. Frankenstein and so on... Currently listening to Don Quijote! :) He already fought the windmills!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitch-hiking trip from Munich to Istanbul through the Balkans in 2011. That was an amazing experience and I can only recommend it! People of the Balkans are great!

I also climbed a volcano in Chile and learning Salsa was also pretty amazing to me, I think...

3 weeks in Brazil for the World Cup 2014: even if I haven't been to the stadium to see a match, I just loved the atmosphere on the streets and public viewing. Brazilians really know how to party!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: German, French, basic chinese language, cook vegetarian food, salsa/bachata/merengue
Wanna learn about: buddhism, spiritualism
Share: doing sports and eco-lifestyle

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, China, Colombia, Croatia, France, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Japan, Laos, Montenegro, Paraguay, Peru, Slovenia, South Korea, Suriname, Taiwan, Turkey, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Burkina Faso, Chile, China, French Guiana, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups