Logo orange

Akiko Yamada

Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Akiko's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 51 Positive References
  • Fluent in Japanese; learning English, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • I was a film promoter, now student o...
  • Studied ethnology and keep learning it
  • From Originally Tokyo, now nomad
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

sharing

ABOUT ME

I've been on a world journey since 2008, following a flow with my intuition and inspirations, learning a living, seeking for wisdom of life, listening to my heart.

I LOVE the WORLD!
I love different cultures, people, food, languages, nature, village, street, city, music, art and sensation of jumping into the new world and exploring it.

Everyday I want to learn something new, learning from the life and know myself.
And my wish is this crazy journey would be a tool to change the world better somehow and participate in a harmony of this universe.

Currently I'm in Ecuador and will go down to south of South America, last continent of this journey.

There must be something when our paths cross even for a short time. Let's share the life. Looking forward to seeing you.

PHILOSOPHY

A big laugh aloud a day keeps the doctor away.

"Imagine all the people living life in peace"

Eat well, sleep well.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I only surfed so far, all experiences nourished me on my journey. I'm looking forward to hosting people once I settle down somewhere in the world.

Interests

Connecting with Mother Earth;
walking a lot, trekking, camping, swimming (love island!), running, cycling, cerebrating full moon and new moon...

Sustainability;
permaculture, farming, gardening, bio-construction, make something with recycled items, natural soap etc.

Ayurveda and Natural medicines.

Reading and writing.

Sitting and watching local life.

A glass of wine with a good conversation or a movie.

Getting involved any kind of world peace

And YOGA!
-Since I traveled India, yoga has been a part of my life. I enjoy practicing in any kind of yoga class and share my practice as well.

Music, Movies & Books

World & ethnic music (African, Gypsy, Indian, Hawaian, Okinawan-south islands of Japan..), JAZZ, Raggae, Bossanova, Soul, Funk, Bachata..
I like exploring local music wherever I am.

Movie; Good quality of human drama, independent movies.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

*Pilgrimage to Mt. Kailash in West Tibet
*Trekking in Himaraya in Nepal
*Buiding Green House in a monastery in Ladakh (North India)
*Woofing or working in many ecological farm and communities, especially in Australia and New Zealand
*Working in the kitchen in a small beautiful island in Malaysia
*Help publishing in Bangladesh
*Lots of yoga practice in India and Egypt
*Teaching Japanese in Cambodia and Laos
*Picking grapes with a glass of wine in Swizerland
*Worked in rural development in small village in Mali and Burkina Faso (carried lots of water on my head)
*Being hospitalized for ten days in Paris due to Malaria infection and nearly dying. Amazing thing is afterwards, I more appreciate my life. I'm alive!!! It's just a miracle! :))
*Pilgrimage on Camino de Santiago in Spain
*Having a share farm in Western Australia
Whole process of tomato, from planting to selling to the market
* Yoga Teacher Training Course in Byron Bay
*Living in Xalapa Veracruz in Mexico, working in Ashram and teaching yoga
*Permaculture design course in Quito
*Working in Chocolate factory and selling them around fair (Pujili, Ecuador)

AND lots of synchronicity on my journey

Teach, Learn, Share

Please teach me Spanish!!

I'd like to learn cooking, especially local dish or any unique recipe/ any ideas about sustainable life.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I'd like to share Yoga practice and knowledge of permaculture (I've got certificates of both of them), and of course tons of stories of this journey.

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia, Federated States of, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam, Western Sahara

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Fiji, Japan, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Akiko's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile