Iouri Belov

Turku, Finland

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iouri’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, Russian, Swedish; learning Finnish, German, Hungarian, Italian, Spanish, Ukrainian
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Translator, student, job seeker
  • Higher education in translation
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Переводчик, постоянно в поисках работы. Хорошо владею английским, шведским, французским, а также немного финским, испанским, немецким и другими языками, русский - родной. Живу где-то между Финляндией и Квебеком. Изредка заезжаю в Россию и через Интернет поддерживаю там оппозицию.

= = =

Je suis traducteur et constamment à la recherche de travail. Je parle bien anglais, suédois, français et un peu de finnois, espagnol, allemand et d'autres langues. Le russe est ma langue maternelle. Je habite quelque part entre la Finlande et le Québec. Parfois je m'arrête en Russie et je soutiens l'opposition russe via Internet.

= = =

Olen kääntäjä ja etsii jatkuvasti työtä. Puhun englantia, ruotsia, ranskaa ja vähän suomea, espanjaa, saksaa ja muita kieliä. Venäjä on minun äidinkieli. Asun jonnekin Suomen ja Quebecin välillä. Joskus pysähdyn Venäjällä ja kannatan Venäjän opposition Internetissä.

= = =

Jag är översättare och ständigt söker arbete. Jag talar engelska, svenska, franska och lite finska, spanska, tyska och andra språk. Ryska är mitt modersmål. Jag bor någonstans mellan Finland och Quebec. Ibland stannar jag i Ryssland och jag stöder den ryska oppositionen genom Internet.

= = =

I am a translator and constantly look for work. I speak English, Swedish, French and some Finnish, Spanish, German and other languages. Russian is my native language. I live somewhere between Finland and Quebec. Sometimes I stop in Russia and I support the Russian opposition via the Internet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would like to meet various people in order to learn about their cultures and practice languages.


studying Finnish, studying Norwegian (temporarily put-off), studying German, studying Spanish, looking for a job, looking for a study programme, practising Swedish, jogging, training in a gym or a pool, writing in blogs, following Russian politics

Music, Movies, and Books

I can send you a list of my favourite films (Russian, European, North American), songs and books. Here there is not enough space.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2004 I learned Spanish in one month and successfully passed the entrance test for the Spanish programme at Université Laval (Québec, QC).
In 2009 I got a very high score in the Swedish entrance test for Abo Akademi (Finland) and was accepted as a student for the Swedish programme.
Since 2010 I have been volunteering as an editor of a Russian opposition website.

What I Can Share with Hosts

By profession I am a translator, so I can mainly help with languages.

I can help people learn my native language, Russian (I have some experience in it). If needed, I can also help with other languages that I know well.

I have some Russian films and songs with me, which you can watch and listen to.

I have advanced computer skills and can share them as well.

If you think that I can contribute in some other way, you can ask me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Italy, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Finland, Mongolia, Russian Federation, Sweden, Turkmenistan

Join Couchsurfing to see Iouri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups